Favorite Authors: Melina Marchetta

When I was actually a teen, I was really not a fan of realistic YA at all. Partly this was because there wasn’t much that wasn’t in the after-school special genre, partly because I was pretty sheltered, and partly because I just loved fantasy so much. Regardless, it wasn’t until much later that I started discovering that there were books I liked in realistic fiction. And one of the very first ones I found was Melina Marchetta. I had heard about Jellicoe Road and gulped it down and loved it instantly. I have liked all of Marchetta’s realistic fiction and absolutely loved both Jellicoe Road and The Piper’s Son. I have to thank her for opening the doors of realistic fiction to me.

Favorite books by Melina Marchetta
1. Jellicoe Road
2. The Piper’s Son
3. Saving Francesca

All of my Melina Marchetta reviews
Saving Francesca, briefly (2010)
The Piper’s Son, briefly (2011)
(On the) Jellicoe Road (2010) and again briefly in May 2010 and June 2010, andagain briefly (2011)
Finnikin of the Rock, briefly (2010)
Froi of the Exiles, briefly (2012)
Quintana of Charyn (2013)

1 Comment

Filed under bookish posts

One response to “Favorite Authors: Melina Marchetta

  1. Pingback: February 2015 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

