Links from around the web: 1-5-15

New year, new links!

The Cybils shortlists are out! I had a wonderful time as a MG/Elementary SFF judge this year (try saying that five times fast) and am so proud of the list we created. Thanks to all my fellow panelists, and if you’re interested in becoming a judge next year, I highly recommend it.

– Brandy had a couple of nice posts recently. One about the love stories she trained on and another about her favorite books of the past five years (many of them are also mine which is why we’re friends).

– If you’ve read Rose Under Fire, you’ll appreciate this one: a Christmas card one of the Ravensbruck Rabbits drew for another in 1942. If you haven’t read Rose Under Fire, why not? (via, appropriately enough, Elizabeth Wein)

– The still-present physical remnants of WWI in the Argonne region of France. This is haunting. (via someone on Twitter, I think Matt Pearce)

– Relatedly, this was the 100th anniversary of the 1914 Christmas Truce. My first association with the Truce is the fictionalized account in Kate Seredy’s The Singing Tree which you can read here. It still makes me cry every time. World War I makes me cry every time.

– An interesting critique of steampunk here, which I largely agree with.

– Long, hard read about the problems with the Interview movie.

– Bill Moyers listed We Need Diverse Books as #1 on his list of groups to consider supporting! It always makes me happy when people outside the kidlit world actually get it.

FRANCES HARDINGE HAS A NEW BOOK COMING OUT! I REPEAT! FRANCES HARDINGE HAS A NEW BOOK COMING OUT! (via Ana, obviously)

– North and South stuff: best caption; train scene gifs (prepare to melt); EEEEEEEE

– Related: there’s a new vlog-style adaptation of North & South that just started! I’ve watched the first two videos and liked them a lot. (Thanks to Valerie for mentioning it)

– Queen’s Thief stuff: fancast of my heart; an old post but this line still gives me chills; this photoset gives me feels; have a Sophos!

AGENT CARTER.

– Fanarts: cover for Pride & Prejudice

3 Comments

Filed under links

3 responses to “Links from around the web: 1-5-15

  1. I love reading through the Cybils shortlists – thanks for linking! Can’t even begin to imagine the effort involved in being a judge though…

    Li

    • Maureen Eichner

      It really depends on the round–Round 2 judging is not nearly as intense! I read quickly, so Round 1 is a pretty good fit for me.

  2. Pingback: January 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

