2014: Favorite new to me blogs

Some of these blogs I’ve actually been following for more than a year, others I haven’t.

Ana @ Things Mean A Lot: I had read several reviews & blog posts from Ana and then I just broke down and started following her blog. Since it is delightful and she likes many of the authors I do, this was definitely a good idea.

Lady Business: Relatedly, after being aware of Lady Business peripherally I actually started reading it. I really enjoy the range of commentary and opinions there.

Abigail Nussbaum: I frequently disagree with Abigail Nussbaum. Possibly more often than I agree with her. But her criticism is so smart and sharp that even if I end up disagreeing, I’m grateful for having been made to examine my own opinion in a new light.

Kelly & Kimberly @ Stacked: I definitely value Kelly & Kimberly’s thoughtful reviews and criticism, and especially their advocacy for YA and teenage girls.

Liz Bourke: I appreciate Liz Bourke’s commentary, both on her blog and her Tor.com column Sleeps With Monsters. I often agree, but more importantly, I also feel challenged to think about books more deeply and more critically.

Anne Ursu: Anne Ursu’s smart, trenchant essays on Tumblr are one of the things that have made 2014 even semi-bearable. I appreciate her willingness to take on big topics and speak truth.

I will also note that there are two people I follow primarily on Twitter, Jenny and Kaye. They both, like the rest of the women on this list, give me new insights and challenge my complacency, as well as providing the occasional shared fannish moment.

2 Comments

Filed under links

2 responses to “2014: Favorite new to me blogs

  1. Aw, thank you so much! I’m also really grateful to have discovered your blog this year. Your posts are always a pleasure to read, and plus you introduced me to Miss Fisher 😀

Leave a Reply

