Recent Reading: Stiefvater, White, Barnes, Carlson

blue lilyBlue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater: I have finally figured out that this series starts off slowly and then hits a point of no return and is full speed ahead from there. I can’t wait for the next book, and I don’t know what’s going to happen, which is an exciting thing.

illusions of fateIllusions of Fate by Kiersten White: I’ve wanted to like White’s books in the past but have never quite managed it. This one I really liked. The premise and characters were really interesting and while I wasn’t 100% sold on the big twist, it also wasn’t so implausible that I wanted to give up on the book. Jessamine is also a main character who’s not white and who is from a colonized country and dealing with the effects of that in her own life and the lives of her family and friends.

killer instinctKiller Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes: Second book in the Naturals series. There’s a bit of second book ness to this one and the characters’ viewpoints are such a different way of seeing the world that I occasionally had a little trouble connecting to them. But all in all, this is a fascinating series.

vnhlpoTerror of the Southlands by Caroline Carlson: Sequel to Magic Marks the Spot. I liked this one less than the first, mostly because the characters seem a bit stuck in their roles. I did very much appreciate how Carlson makes Hilary an adventurous character without presenting her as the Right Way To Be A Girl. In fact, Claire and Miss Pimm are powerful magic users who also enjoy embroidery and traditionally feminine things.

4 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

4 responses to “Recent Reading: Stiefvater, White, Barnes, Carlson

  1. I hadn’t heard of Illusions of Fate yet–I’ll look for it. Thanks.

    And yes, viz Raven Boys!

  2. Pingback: 2014: Favorite YA books | By Singing Light

  3. Pingback: December 2014 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

