Applesauce muffins

I made these recently and ate them with great enjoyment. Since I’m always on the lookout for good vegan recipes, I thought I’d share it. (These are vegan and fasting, and I like that they don’t rely on substitutions to make the recipe work.)

Applesauce Muffins
1/2 c oil (I used canola)
1/2 c sugar (I decreased this and thought 1/2 c was about right)
1 c applesauce
1 t baking soda
2 c flour (I used white whole wheat)
spices to taste (I used homemade applesauce which was quite cinnamony already, so I didn’t add more spices, but nutmeg and allspice would be good)
1/2 c additions: raisins, currants, dried cranberries, chopped nuts, more chopped apple or pear

Preheat oven to 350* and get your muffin tin ready. Cream oil and sugar in a medium bowl. Add applesauce and baking soda and mix thoroughly. Add flour and spices and stir just until combined, then add whatever additions you want. Fill muffin tins 2/3-3/4 full and bake 15-20 minutes. Mine made 12 muffins. The nice thing about this recipe is how versatile it is. Too wet? Add some flour. Too dry? Add some more applesauce or oil. Like nuts? Nut it up. You really can’t go wrong. (Adapted from Food From Paradise)

6 Comments

Filed under cooking adventures

6 responses to “Applesauce muffins

  1. This sounds delicious! I love muffins, especially in the winter.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Yes, and these worked really well for quick breakfasts and work snacks (sometimes I find that muffins don’t hold up very well).

  2. that’s such a great cookbook! sounds like great muffins!!! yum!

  3. Yum! I bet I could even convince my kids to eat these for Special Breakfast, if we use fresh chopped fruit instead of dried.

Leave a Reply

