Historical Fantasies: Edwardian

Historical fantasy is one of my favorite subgenres, an awesome melting pot of historical fiction and fantasy. I even have a separate page listing the ones I’ve read! This feature will run for a few months, showcasing the major time periods I’ve read in. Goal: have a spiffy, updated page by the end!

This time I’m looking at Edwardian-era fantasies, by which I mean books set from about 1901-1914. I feel like my list is very short! Are there some I’m missing?

A College of Magics and A Scholar of Magics by Caroline Stevermer (Europeanish, YA, love it!)
The Bards of Bone Plain by Patricia McKillip (English-y, adult/upper YA, lovely)
Chime by Franny Billingsley (English, YA, love)
The Boneshaker by Kate Milford (American, middle grade, not my personal favorite)
The Inquisitor’s Apprentice by Chris Moriarty
Delia’s Shadow by Jamie Lee Moyer (which I haven’t myself read)
Leviathan and sequels by Scott Westerfeld (European; middle grade; lots of fun)

1 Comment

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

One response to “Historical Fantasies: Edwardian

  1. Ooh! There’s a lot of fun-looking ones I haven’t read here. I’ll have to cogitate and see if I can come up with more, but the one that pops to mind is the middle grade Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series by Mary Rose Wood – lots of snarky fun.

Leave a Reply

