Links from around the web: 11-17-2014

An illustrated version of one of the myths from the Queen’s Thief series. (via helen eddis on Tumblr)

– A nice post from Theodora Goss about telling stories.

– Michelle is a former coworker and general awesome person who has a nice perspective on the stresses of AR-centric reading.

– I found this post about the maker movement really fascinating. (via Karen Jensen)

I WANT THIS DOOR. (via R.J. Anderson)

– If you’ve read Lawrence Wright’s Going Clear, you may already know some of this information, but I found this Twitter essay on the relationship between Heinlein and new religions to be very interesting. (via Natalie Luhrs)

– A long, wonderful essay about Lord Peter Wimsey and nostalgia from Doris Egan: “Busman’s Honeymoon, the last book by Sayers herself, is lapped in that mellow, golden-age light. Bunter driving the car with the port in the trunk; the meeting between the Dowager Duchess and Harriet, and the story of how Bunter first took over Peter’s postwar life; Peter singing French songs as he chops wood on his wedding night… Bunter’s letter to his mother. My god, such gifts to the long-time readers. (And I will pause and say in passing that the Wimsey series reminds me of the Vorkosigan series by Lois Bujold, in its way of seducing readers to become entangled with the characters and wishing to see what becomes of their family over time.)”

– There has been a great deal of discussion about the Requires Hate/Benjanun Sriduangkaew situation which I had been reading about until I realized that I was accidentally triggering myself. And also, I am wary of the way the people most directly affected by the situation seem to be forced out of the discussions. So I’ll just link to this post on The Radish and leave it at that.

3 Comments

Filed under links

3 responses to “Links from around the web: 11-17-2014

  1. I love Sayers! will look at this article, thanks!

  2. Thanks for the shout-out, equally awesome lady! 🙂

Leave a Reply

