Recent reading: Non-Cybils edition

I decided that during this Cybils season, I will try to read all Cybils books all the time during the week and then let myself read other stuff on the weekends. We’ll see how that works. At any rate, here’s what I read this weekend:

Deceiver by CJ Cherryh: I was engaged by this, because Cherryh, and then I hit a certain point and I was reading frantically and stayed up way too late because I had to know what happened. Which is to say, this is one of the more gripping installments at this end of the series.

Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore: Historical fantasy set in a city based on Weimar Berlin. I liked this one quite a bit, although I never completely bought the romance. But it’s an unusual and intriguing setting and Dolamore is very good at little bits of description that really set the scene.

Lulu and the Hedghog in the Rain by Hilary McKay: I’ve been going on about how wonderful Hilary McKay is, and how wonderful her Lulu books in particular are. But they really make me quite happy! I enjoyed the neighbors in this one, and Lulu’s absolute conviction that everyone should love animals as much as she does.

Perfect Scoundrels
by Ally Carter: I’ve been meaning to read this one since it first came out and actually had it checked out at one point. I did enjoy it, but found myself a little less invested in Kat’s adventures. Is it the book? Too much distance from the last story? Not sure.

2 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

2 responses to “Recent reading: Non-Cybils edition

  1. Pingback: October 2014 round-up | By Singing Light

  2. Pingback: Historical Fantasies: 1920s on | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

