September 2014 round-up

I’m trying a slightly different format for this post, including some other media I’ve enjoyed and things I’ve posted recently. Let me know what you think!

Books I’ve already talked about
West of the Moon by Margi Preus
My Real Children by Jo Walton
Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan
Lock In by John Scalzi
The Suffragette Scandal by Courtney Milan
Lab Rat One by Andrea K Host
The House of Dies Drear by Virginia Hamilton
All Clear by Connie Willis
The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell

Other books
Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers: I didn’t connect with this one quite as much as I did with Cracked Up to Be, and I’m not 100% sure why. Nevertheless, I really like Summers’ writing and will continue my read through her backlist.

A Tangled Web by L.M. Montgomery: This one was reissued recently and since I haven’t read it in years, I checked it out in a fit of LMM nostalgia. For the most part I enjoyed it, although it’s not one of the strongest of her books. But eek, I had forgotten about the really awful racism at the end! It left me with a sour taste in my mouth.

Conspirator by C.J. Cherryh: This is another strong one in the Foreigner series. I like the continuing development of Cajieri and his place in the world of the atevi. It also helps to give the reader an actual atevi pov, rather than just Bren trying to feel his way through an alien culture.

Araminta Spookie: My Haunted House by Angie Sage: I’m trying to beef up my juvenile fiction reading because of the New Job. I wasn’t sure what I’d think of this one, but I ended up finding it funny and rather charming.

Junonia by Kevin Henkes: Another J FIC read; I didn’t love it as much as some of Henkes’s other books. There’s the sense of respect for the interior life of a child, but it just didn’t click with me the way his books usually do.

Babymouse: Queen of the World by Jennifer Holm: Not my cup of tea, although I can see why it’s popular with kids.

True Pretenses by Rose Lerner: I’m saving my thoughts on this one for an actual review closer to the release date, but I will say that Rose Lerner is an excellent writer.

Other posts
R.J. Anderson is one of my favorite authors!
Noor Inayat Khan and the SOE
Made and Making: September 2014

TV & Movies
Orphan Black season 1: I wasn’t sure what I’d think of this one, but I ended up loving it. Tatiana Maslasny is fantastic (sometimes I legitimately forget it’s one woman playing all the characters), and I so appreciate how focused the show is on the relationship between the clones. This is probably a show for adults or older teens, but it’s a hugely engrossing and thought provoking one.

Person of Interest season 2: I really enjoy Person of Interest. It’s interesting that by the end of the second season it’s morphed from its fairly simple original setup (two guys saving people via a Machine that knows everything) into a science-fictiony exploration of free will and choices and artificial intelligence. Where some shows get too hung up on their own mythology, Person of Interest somehow manages to do this in a surprisingly graceful way.

The Musketeers season 1: I JUST started watching this, but it looks like it’ll be campy fun. It’s best to separate it from Dumas’s book, since otherwise everything is just annoying. And I already know that Luke Pasqualino can definitely play Gen anytime he wants. Plus, I appreciate that Porthos is black since, well, Dumas!

Cybils
You have about five days left to get your nominations in! Here are a few that are eligible in my category and haven’t been nominated yet. I haven’t read any of them, so this is not an endorsement:
Terror of the Southlands
Children of the King
Winterfrost
Rose and the Magician’s Mask
Dreamwood
The Misshapes: The Coming Storm
The Voyage of Lucy P. Simmons: The Emerald Shore
Sparkers
Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times

Leave a comment

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

Leave a Reply

