Made and making: September 2014

Cooking

Pizza with red and yellow peppers, except that I used the cheese from this recipe. It was good, although I did wish that the peppers had caramelized a little more.

Cauliflower Gratin: Really good! I made it in a too-large pan and next time would go smaller (I don’t own an 8×11″) but that’s my own fault.

Pear-Raspberry Pie: The original calls for mini-pies; I made one big one instead. So good–pear, raspberry, and ginger is a stellar combination.

Beef Stew from The Kitchen Sink: I basically made this one as written, although I think it would make for some fabulous variations.

Cream Biscuits: Made these in a hurry which resulted in them looking like the triangular sort of scones. I did about a third of the flour as white whole wheat; they were still excellent! I like the simplicity of this recipe a lot.

Spiced Pear-Pecan Quick Bread: Although I made so many changes to the recipe that it’s not strictly fair to say that I made it. Substituted hazelnuts for pecans, browned butter for oil, yogurt for buttermilk, nutmeg for cardamom. The result was delicious but I unfortunately let it sit out too long and it all went moldy. Booo!

Big Breakfast Latkes from the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook: Great weekday breakfast! I especially liked them with a fried egg to top.

Glorified Zucchini Casserole: Recipe in my notebook from unknown origins. It was quite good–a kind of gratinish dish without being a gratin exactly.

Tofu with Peanut-Ginger Sauce from Yahoo Foods: This was disappointing. Not enough flavor, and definitely not good enough to bump my favorites out of rotation.

Knitting
Still working on my Rose Under Fire sweater–about a third done with the front, which is exciting!

I also started a project to keep at work, a shawl for a friend based on this pattern. Very simple and soothing, great for lunches and breaks.

I’m having trouble finishing projects, which is frustrating, but hopefully both of these will inspire me to stick with it.

1 Comment

Filed under cooking adventures, crafts

One response to “Made and making: September 2014

  1. Pingback: September 2014 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

