Notes of a personal sort

I am in a bit of a slump, reading-wise. Well, I am in a bit of a slump everything wise. Not sure if it’s summer (ugh) or the state of the world or just the mood of the moment, but regardless, I’d be fine with some enthusiasm showing up. All of that to say, I haven’t been posting quite as regularly lately. I did start Gillian Bradshaw’s Dark North and I love the premise and the beginning, but it lacks focus which is not helping things. Likewise, I am forcing myself through the sleeves for my Pretty (Me) sweater and would just like them to be done now, thanks.

HOWEVER! I do have cool, exciting news. I’ve been working as an part-time assistant for the Plainfield Public Library for the past few years and they recently offered me a job as a full time programmer for tweens and homeschoolers. We have a great teen area and program, but some kids are too young or not quite ready to be there, and I’ll be focusing on meeting that need, as well as developing relationships with local homeschoolers. I’m a bit nervous, but mostly excited and very honored as well.

This probably won’t affect posting here much, but I may morph my library display feature into more of a general library + programming thing. We’ll see.

10 Comments

Filed under Library, life

10 responses to “Notes of a personal sort

  1. Congratulations on your new job!!! I hope it’s wonderful for you. And that you get out of your summer doldrums soon.

  2. oh! that sounds awesome!

    And I hear you about being in a slump. I’m blaming it on my life being in such limbo right now. Hopefully I’ll feel more inspired and have better luck finding good books once that’s all sorted it out. 🙂

    • Maureen Eichner

      I’m really looking forward to it.

      Yeah, there are times when upheaval means I read so much because I can’t deal with anything else, and other times when it means I don’t read anything because I can’t deal with more.

  3. Yay you viz job! I hope it’s fun and busy in a good way! (and I hope you find something really good to read soon).

  4. just catching up with things; when I am struggling at times it helps to just think of what I am thankful for; what WONDERFUL news about your FT job!!! lots of transitions here but thank God for your job! I know first hand how hard this can be (finding a job, much less one you love)! hope you are feeling a bit better and God keep you well and help you in your New Job!!!

  5. Mimi

    Congratulations on the new job!
    It’s been an odd summer, I agree.

Leave a Reply

