Links from around the web: 8-11-14

– I had already read most of these quotes from JRR Tolkien on fantasy and fairy tales, but it’s nice to see them gathered.

– The costume history nerd in me rejoices in this wonderful essay about Victorian hair art and mourning traditions.

– The costume history/costume drama nerd in me also rejoices in this website dedicated to Recycled movie costumes. If you don’t find the fact that North and South, Bleak House, and Return to Cranford all feature the same gorgeous stripey outfit fascinating, well. That speaks for itself.

– Not one but TWO gorgeous fanarts for the Lynburn Legacy books: Kami and Jared. (both via Sarah Rees Brennan’s Tumblr)

– I liked Sage Blackwood’s advice for looking for an agent quite a bit. Very level-headed and practical.

– On to more serious matters. First, Lee and Low put out a great infographic about the Diversity gap in SFF films. Yikes. (via Leila Roy)

– I had Elizabeth Ebony’s ‘”Why is Rue a Little Black Girl?” – The Problem of Innocence in the Dark Fantastic’ on my list to include here for a few weeks. At the moment it feels almost hideously relevant, but do go read it anyway. It’s a clear breakdown of a problem that plagues both kidlit and readers’ reactions to it. (via Liz Burns)

– And then there are the recent posts on Storytime Underground about librarianship and racism. Both are excellent but I was especially struck by Maggie Block’s What it means to be an anti-racist children’s librarian.

– I haven’t personally come across gamification in real life, but I found myself nodding along to this article. (via Liz Burns)

– Okay, if you need something to cheer you up, may I suggest the following video?

Leave a comment

Filed under links

Leave a Reply

