Airplane reading

I finally internet at home! So I should be around here more often. Yay!

In the meantime, I went to Boston for my sister’s college graduation, and then to Oregon for my brother’s high school graduation. I’m so proud of them both.

And of course, with two long plane rides, I had a lot of reading opportunities. On the way to and from Oregon, I ended up reading four books, and I could have read a few more, if only I had had them with me (there are advantages to ereaders).

my life next door pretender torn away creature of moonlight
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick: I had been aware of this one since it came out and impulse-bought a copy when I went to get my brother a graduation present. It was perfect airplane reading–fun, light, well done in a way that didn’t leave me any regrets. It’s a great summer romance story, and one I would recommend for fans of Jennifer Echols or Jennifer Smith.

Torn Away by Jennifer Brown: If you work with teens in the Midwest, I would definitely recommend getting this one for your collection. Brown really captures the Midwestern setting, especially the relationship with tornadoes. And there’s a drama to the whole story that I think teens will really enjoy. I liked the story without being 100% captivated by it, but I appreciated a lot about it.

Prentender by C.J. Cherryh: Eighth Bren Cameron book. I was nearly hyperventilating the whole way through–I have no idea what my seatmates thought of me. (Fortunately, my squeaks were probably disguised by the engine noise.) If there’s one thing Cherryh excels at, it’s creating a story that’s extremely intense and breath-taking without a lot actually *happening*. Okay, in this one things happen, and yet somehow I always feel that the can’t-stop-must-keep-reading response I have to this series is out of proportion to the plot. This is probably my favorite of the last few books; I really enjoy Tabini, for whatever reason, and like the books he’s featured in. Now on to Deliverer, which is already promising to be just as stressful.

Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn: This is a quietish book, with fewer dragons that the cover promises. But it’s a lovely exploration of what family and forgiveness are, and ultimately it’s the story of a girl finding a place for herself in the world. I liked the careful way Marni’s relationships with other women are depicted, and her voice had a kind of ring of truth to it that I really appreciated.

Advertisements

11 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

11 responses to “Airplane reading

  1. Oh! I wish I’d known you were in Boston; we could have planned an IRL coffee or tea meet-up if your schedule had allowed. Congratulations to both your sister and your brother on their graduations!

    Your airplane reads sound great. Especially Creature of Moonlight, given my current interests. I’m adding it to the library list!

    • Maureen Eichner

      Oh, man! If I’m back there soon, I’ll definitely let you know! This trip was pretty jam-pack full, if it’s any consolation.

      • I could make it to Boston too!

        I have never read any Cherryh, but that sounds like the type of book I love. Where should I start?

        • Maureen Eichner

          I’ll keep that in mind!

          If you’re starting with the Bren Cameron books, the best one to begin with is Foreigner. This is a series that really does need to be read in order, imo, although it’s sub-divided into trilogies.

  2. Thank you for sharing the books! “Creature of Moonlight” is on my want-to-read list, but a nice summer romance sounds lovely! And I’m happy to note that my library owns “Torn Away”, currently checked out.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Yes, I’ve really been wanting smart, light books to relax with. I’ve got Fitzpatrick’s second book on hold.

  3. I read My Life Next Door and was underwhelmed. I can barely even remember the story now.

  4. Pingback: May and June 2014 reading list | By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: 2014: Favorite adult books | By Singing Light

  6. Pingback: Cybils review: The Shadow Behind the Stars by Rebecca Hahn | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s