48 hour challenge: update the last

Wow! I did it!
48 hours

This was my first 48 hour challenge, and I’m happy to say that I 1) successfully completed it 2) got a lot of reading done and 3) read some books I really enjoyed.

The Grand Plan to Fix Everything by Uma Krishnaswami-finished
Sister Mine by Nalo Hopkinson-finished
Pointe by Brandy Colbert-finished

Cold Steel by Kate Elliott
A Moment Comes by Jennifer Bradbury
Flygirl by Sherri Smith-finished
Lost Girl Found by Leah Bassoff
A Bride’s Story 2 by Kaoru Mori-finished
She Is Not Invisible by Marcus Sedgwick
Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes-finished
Range of Ghosts by Elizabeth Bear-finished
Tin Star by Cecil Castellucci-finished
My Neighbor Totoro-finished
Melusine by Sarah Monette-finished

Reading time: 19 hours total
Blogging time: 45 min total

Brief reviews for the four I read yesterday:
Flygirl by Sherri Smith: The story of a young African-American girl during WWII who passes for white in order to join the Women Airforce Service Pilots. Smith tells the story well, with a lot of sympathy for Ida Mae, as well as a look at the consequences of her decision and what she both gains and loses. I will also admit that I thought a lot about Code Name Verity–this is a great readalike for CNV fans who like the flying bits. Also, someone mentions “Dream a Little Dream” which is just not fair; ow, my heart.

My Neighbor Totoro: An elementary age novelization of Miyazaki’s classic film which…I have not seen. The novelization stands well in its own right. There are some slightly awkward moments which I suspect are due to the vagaries of translation, but there’s also a lovely timeless, magical quality to the story.

Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes: It seems strange to call a book set in New Orleans just before and during Hurricane Katrina gentle, but I kept thinking of Ninth Ward as just that. Lanesha faces extraordinary difficulties, but her story is about much more than the hurricane. It’s about friendship, and about family, about love and loss and finding out who you are. I also love the cover–perfect for the tone of the book, and for Lanesha herself.

Melusine by Sarah Monette: I loved The Goblin Emperor, written by Monette under the pen-name Katherine Addison, SO MUCH. So much that I immediately checked out the first book in her debut series, The Doctrine of Labyrinths. It’s very, very dark and intense, which means that I couldn’t quite love it as whole-heartedly as The Goblin Emperor. I do very much appreciate what it does, and some of the things that happened were horrifying because I cared so much about the characters. (I also think there would be an interesting little essay on how it fits into and resists the grimdark genre.) That said, I’m not sure if I’ll be reading the rest of the books in the series.

Advertisements

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “48 hour challenge: update the last

  1. Impressive list of books and you had to work on Saturday – even more impressive. Thanks for your thoughts on each and I hope to include some of these in my summer reading.

  2. I loved the Totoro book, which I read before seeing the movie. And then I loved the movie too! and now I really really want to go see the recreated house in Japan…..http://kotaku.com/in-japan-you-can-visit-the-totoro-house-for-real-1038774854

  3. There are definitely a few here I need to pick up. That is one thing that is so great about the 48 HBC, so many new people and books.

  4. I didn’t know there was a “Totoro” book but I LOVED the movie! And I’m not even an anime fan.

  5. I like the Melusine quartet, but prefer her other works, and think The Goblin Emperor is best of all.

    And you must see Totoro! (At least since you liked the book. ^_^)

  6. When I started to google the book, the first thing the internet wanted me to look for was “Totoro bed.” Have you seen this?! Haha!

  7. Oh, yeah, Melusine. I admired it . . . but I didn’t pick up the other three. I’m really looking forward to The Goblin Emperor, though!

  8. Congratulations on finishing your first Challenge! You did very well! I, too, enjoyed Melusine, but never went on to the others. Flygirl is one that’s been on my radar for years, but I’ve not yet read.

  9. Pingback: May and June 2014 reading list | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s