48 Hour Challenge Starting Line post and first update

48 hours
So, despite the fact that I still have no internet*, I decided to try to do the 48 Hour Reading Challenge (hosted at Mother Reader). Also despite the fact that I’m working 8 hours on Saturday. This is possibly ridiculous, but that’s okay. I have wanted to participate in some of the reading challenges that go on, but my work schedule makes this difficult. And given the focus on diverse books in this reading challenge, it was also something I felt strongly about wanting to support.

Here’s my (extremely ambitious) list:
The Grand Plan to Fix Everything by Uma Krishnaswami
Sister Mine by Nalo Hopkinson
Pointe by Brandy Colbert
Cold Steel by Kate Elliott
A Moment Comes by Jennifer Bradbury
Flygirl by Sherri Smith
Lost Girl Found by Leah Bassoff
A Bride’s Story 2 by Kaoru Mori
She Is Not Invisible by Marcus Sedgwick
Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes
Range of Ghosts by Elizabeth Bear

I am happy to note that most of these were already on my checked-out-to-read stacks! I started at 8 this morning (Friday) and have read for an hour and a half so far.

At this point, I have finished The Grand Plan to Fix Everything, which was absolutely charming, and a wonderful example of how diverse books can both be wonderfully specific and true (in this case to Indian culture) and touch on wider concerns, like friendship and family.

And now I’ve started Nalo Hopkinson’s Sister Mine, which recently won the Andre Norton award. I am loving Makeda and the cadences of her narration.

* By the end of next week this should be fixed. Yay!

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “48 Hour Challenge Starting Line post and first update

  1. Oh, I’m excited to read your review of “A Moment Comes.” I loved Bradbury’s “Wrapped”!

  2. Wow! More books to look into… I’ve only read Cold Steel, though I’ve been buying A Bride’s Story for the library.

  3. I think I read Flygirl awhile back… It was pretty good, from what I remember. Good luck with the challenge! đŸ˜€

  4. Sister Mine is in my pile too–I hope it’s good. And Grand Plan is awfully fun (and I should add the sequel to my pile too!)

    I hope the settling in is going well, excpet for the no internet bit….I hope you get it soon, because the internet is comforting….

    • Maureen Eichner

      Grand Plan is lovely–I’m looking forward to the sequel quite a bit.

      Thanks! It is going well, although I am (of course) in need of more bookshelves.

  5. Excellent list! Prepare yourself for Pointe. I may need to take a break after reading it…

  6. Several really good ones. Loved A Moment Comes, Fly Girl… you should have a good time reading. Grand Plan and the sequel are also fun. Interesting how my list has skewed toward Indian culture this year! Enjoy!

    • Maureen Eichner

      I noticed that myself. Very interesting–I’m glad more books about that cutlure are being published.

  7. Your list of books looks great!

  8. These look like good book choices. I loved Flygirl and Ninth War and hope you do too.

  9. The Grand Plan to Fix Everything is one of the sweetest books ever. I hope you enjoy it.

  10. So many great titles! In many years I’ve had something smack in the middle of my Saturday, and you just do what you can. It’s all for fun and games.

  11. Pingback: May and June 2014 reading list | By Singing Light

  12. Pingback: August 2014 book list | By Singing Light

  13. Pingback: 2014: Favorite middle grade books | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

