Recent Reading: Short stories, romance, and middle grade

sun kissedSun-kissed by Laura Florand: A new short novel from Florand. This one is a bit different in that it 1) takes place in America and 2) focuses on the older generation, Mack Corey and Anne Winters. I really enjoyed the way Florand explores the different characters, who are more mature and self-confident than their children and their children’s peers in some ways, and yet still very vulnerable in others. I did miss the French setting a bit, but the sea-side is a lovely alternative. I loved the way Mack sees his daughters and sons-in-law; it was great to see some of the other characters from the Chocolat series through his eyes. All in all, this was a lovely endcap to Florand’s earlier stories (though if there are more in the future, I won’t be sad!)

conservation of shadowsConservation of Shadows by Yoon Ha Lee: A collection of sff short stories. Lee is Korean-American, and based several of the stories on incidents from Korean history. I found that the sensibility underlying the stories to be clear and beautiful; I can’t speak to how and what has been informed by her heritage, but there’s certainly an awareness of non-western based cultures that is refreshing. I loved the worlds Lee creates, and her characters–often caught between two duties or two loyalties. This is one of the most cohesive anthologies I can remember reading, which I greatly appreciated–while I love short stories, I often feel that collections lack coherence. If I have a complaint, it’s that occasionally the endings felt less forceful than I wanted them to be; not rushed, exactly, but compressed in a way that didn’t quite give me the follow-through I wanted. I don’t know if the fault is in the stories, or in me, but this happened often enough for me to notice it.

clair de luneClair-de-Lune by Cassandra Golds: A middle-grade book, which falls somewhere between fantasy and magical realism (the tone reminds me a bit of The Tale of Despereaux). I liked the characters and writing a lot, but felt some vague unease about the tidiness of the ending and an occasional hammering-home of points. In general, I think this is one I would have absolutely loved a few years ago; it’s probably a good one for the quieter, dreamy young girls.

5 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

5 responses to “Recent Reading: Short stories, romance, and middle grade

  1. Really enjoyed Sun-Kissed too! Love seeing all those chefs from the older generation’s point of view. Maybe the next romance can be Grandpa Jack’s? 😛

  2. Brigid

    Clair-de-Lune was so charming, especially at first, but the ending played to one of my pet peeves.
    [SPOILER]
    I despise when books and films kill off unsympathetic characters in the name of redemption.

  3. Pingback: May and June 2014 reading list | By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: May and June 2014 reading list | 123

  5. Pingback: 2014: Favorite adult books | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

