Favorite Authors: Sarah Rees Brennan

I first read a Sarah Rees Brennan book with a good deal of trepidation, because it’s titled The Demon’s Lexicon and I Don’t Do Books about demons. But I had heard really good things about this one, and I thought I should at least try. And then it turned out to be completely and totally awesome and I became an SRB fangirl for life.* Her stories are all different, but they have threads in common–strong characters, friendship, family. Love is important, but it can’t always save you. Magic is beautiful, but it’s also deadly. Power is a weapon that will turn on you if you don’t wield it carefully. I have rarely found another author who manages to write such perfect, terrible, heartbreaking things. My heart is always wary when I read something new because I know that somehow it is going to be crushed–and I’ll love it.

(Also she came to Indianapolis and I met her and she was awesome!)

* Yes, this is a terrible reference. Sorry not sorry.

Favorite works by Sarah Rees Brennan
1. The Demon’s Surrender
2. “The Queen of Atlantis”
3. The Demon’s Covenant
4. Untold
5. Unspoken
6. The Turn of the Story

All of my Sarah Rees Brennan reviews:
The Demon’s Lexicon, briefly (2010)
The Demon’s Covenant (2010) and again, briefly (2010)
The Demon’s Surrender (2011)
All three DL books at once, briefly (2012)
Unspoken (2012)
Untold, briefly (2013)
Unmade (2014)

(Plus some short story reviews, collected in this tag.)

5 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

5 responses to “Favorite Authors: Sarah Rees Brennan

  1. I’ve only read ‘Unspoken’, and – while I admired SRB’s way with words, particularly when it came to snarky dialogue and excellent, effortless characterisation – I wasn’t blown away. I’ve never tried the Demon’s Lexicon books, but (since you seem to love them so) maybe I will change my mind on that score. 🙂

    • Maureen Eichner

      It’s hard to say, because of course there’s a certain nostalgic love for the first book of a beloved author, but I do love the DL books, particularly the second two.

  2. man… I totally need to add these to my want to read list. I have read none of them. Only I have zero energy for opening up my list right now. yes, I am pitiful. It’s almost closing time.

  3. Pingback: Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

