Links from around the web: 5-7-14

I usually like Liz Bourke’s “Sleeps With Monsters” column quite a bit, but this one, on writing good female characters stood out. (Don’t read the comments if you want to remain unenraged.)

I knew Ida B. Wells was awesome, but I didn’t realize quite how awesome!

There has been a fair amount of attention on the We Need Diverse Books campaign that’s been going on. Here’s a selection of tweets. Here’s a post I wrote for the library blog. And there’s a push to preorder The Great Greene Heist, which looks pretty awesome!

I haven’t watched the trailer yet, but I love these photos of a young Iranian who wants to be an astronaut.

Apparently knitting was used as code during World War II. That’s pretty neat!

In Orthodox news, this photo made me laugh because I have been there many times.

The Toast continues to be golden with this wonderful, spot-on post of reactions if you knew Anne of the Island irl.

A troubling situation in Ethiopia

Leave a comment

Filed under links

Leave a Reply

