Library Displays: Springish edition

Go Green!100_3978
Very simple, partially inspired by a yalsa listserv post (so I guess my original feeling of, “Are you KIDDING? You’re asking other people for books with green covers instead of looking at your collection?” is probably not kind of me). I printed out “Go Green!,” cut them out, stuck them on popsicle sticks and proceeded to scour the collection for books with green covers.

Fairy Tales
100_3970
I am extremely opposed to glitter, but in the interests of patron happiness, I sacrificed both morals and my personal taste and glittered up a pair of fairy wings. I tried to stick to fairy stories from the chapter books and fairy tales that have fairies in them (a surprising number don’t), since I’ve done folk and fairytale displays several times already. This has been a fairly popular display, but I can’t quite figure out which items have been circing.

Spring

100_3976

100_3972

100_3974
Last year I did a rainy theme, but this year after the winter we all had, I wanted something cheerful. So big tulips it is! These were pretty simple–I sketched them out and put them together in a day.

Poetry tree

100_3979

100_3980

100_3981

100_3982
I took this as my inspiration, although mine didn’t turn out looking quite so fancy. Then I cut out leaves of different colors and wrote out bits of poems from several favorite poets on the leaves. Glued them on and attached.

5 Comments

Filed under Library

5 responses to “Library Displays: Springish edition

  1. Thanks for sharing your lovely displays!

    • Maureen Eichner

      Thanks for the comment! They’re one of the best parts of my job. 🙂

      • You’re welcome! I do a lot of displays myself, though I don’t usually take pictures. I like doing the all-one-color displays, too – but I agree, it’s best to look through your own collection for them.

  2. Pingback: Library Display: Nellie Bly/Around the World | By Singing Light

  3. Pingback: Library Displays: Amazing Women and Spring | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

