February 2014 reading list

Books I’ve already talked about
Picture Book Monday
Engines of the Broken World by Jason Vanhee
And All the Stars by Andrea K Host
The Bearkeeper’s Daughter by Gillian Bradshaw
Imperial Purple by Gillian Bradshaw
The Pride of Chanur by C.J. Cherryh
Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
Night at the Vulcan by Ngaio Marsh

Other books
Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle: This is a delightful middle grade book about a boy who wants to be on Broadway more than anything else. There’s a lot of heart and a lot of complexity to its portrayals of the different characters. The sequel is out now, and I can’t wait to read it!

The Real Boy by Anne Ursu: There are shades of Pinocchio in this middle grade fantasy, but it’s not as straightforward as a retelling. It does have a lot to say about what makes people ‘real’ and the lengths they’ll go to when they’re afraid.

The Wagered Widow by Patricia Veryan: Anna recommended Veryan as a good Heyer read-alike, and since those are few and far between, I jumped on this immediately. I enjoyed The Wagered Widow quite a bit! Although it didn’t reach quite the same level as my favorite Heyers, I will definitely be reading more of Veryan’s books.

The Naturals by Jennifer Lynne Barnes: Quickest summary? YA version of Criminal Minds, only slightly less creepy. I’m not sure I completely bought the solution to the mystery, but I liked the characters and it’s an intriguing concept. Definitely a quick, enjoyable read. (Plus a love triangle that did not hugely annoy me!)

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee: A middle grade retelling of “The Snow Queen”, sort of. I liked the way Foxlee played with the original story, while not simply telling HC Andersen over again. She certainly has a gift for resonant prose, and the characters were nicely drawn. I did spot the Big Bad very quickly, but I’m not the book’s target audience.

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge: Several of my friends really, really loved this book, and so I had very high expectations for it. Unfortunately, something kept me from completely loving it, even though on paper it’s about the most Maureen-y book there ever was. I haven’t managed to put my finger on what that is, other than the fact that I never connected with the characters as I think I was meant to. Regardless, I’ll definitely be trying Hodge’s next book, because she’s clearly a gifted writer.

Snuff by Terry Pratchett: The last City Watch book, sniff. I liked the subtle Austen homage, and Sam in the country. The rest was fine, but didn’t quite click for me the way the best of the other books in the series did.

Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando: I very much enjoyed this YA book about two girls who are about to become college roommates. I liked their different voices and the way their relationship went through ups and downs. I also thought that Lauren’s family was a nice depiction of a bigger family that isn’t shown as rednecks or the Duggars.

Plus, I wanted to highlight my post on Fairy Tales and Retellings again, because I’m really proud of that one.

Leave a comment

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

Leave a Reply

