Recent Reading: 2-21-14

And-All-the-StarsAnd All the Stars by Andrea K Host: Several blogging friends have been praising Host’s books for a few years now and I finally got around to reading one. And All the Stars is marvelous–diverse, thoughtful sci-fi, which takes a somewhat improbable scenario and makes it real and human.

The Bearkeeper’s Daughter by Gillian Bradshaw: Historical fiction about Justinian and Theodora, with the focus on a probably-not-real son of Theodora’s. I liked the way Bradshaw weaves in the court history and politics while also keeping a very human and down-to-earth focus on John and his struggles.

Imperial Purple by Gillian Bradshaw: There’s a similar setting and ethos to this one, which looks at the end of Theodosius II’s reign. I found that having the main characters being regular people caught up in larger events gave me more of a sense of everyday lives, as well as being a perspective you don’t always see in historical fiction.

Pride of ChanurThe Pride of Chanur by C.J. Cherryh: Rachel Neumeier told me to read the Chanur books, so I did. 🙂 I loved the way Cherryh keeps the narrative entirely from Pyanfar’s point-of-view, making it far more effective than splitting the story between characters. Perhaps because of that, I did feel a slight distance from the characters, more so than with the Foreigner books. Nevertheless, I am definitely invested enough to read the rest!

10 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

10 responses to “Recent Reading: 2-21-14

  1. I have my very first Gillian Bradshaw book out from the library right now, but I’ve been so busy writing lately that I haven’t had any time for it. 🙂 I’m looking forward to it, though…eventually…

  2. Yay! I hope you love the way the Chanur series works out! Plus, I’m re-reading And All the Stars right now.

  3. So glad you enjoyed And All the Stars! Can’t wait for you to read the rest of her books. 🙂

  4. Pingback: February 2014 reading list | By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: Characters in exile: Stray and The Silence of Medair | By Singing Light

  6. Pingback: 2014: Favorite adult books | By Singing Light

  7. Pingback: 2014: Favorite YA books | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

