Links from around the web 2-19-2014

– The Toast is rapidly becoming one of my favorite sites, and Mallory Ortberg’s guide, “When to Give a Kid a Book” is amazing. It features Tam Lin, Betsy-Tacy (“Betsy-Tacy because they are charming and Midwestern and about best friends and will eventually instill within said child the love for tolerance, the Edwardian era, emotional restraint and Episcopalianism that is necessary for a semester abroad at Oxford.”), and Jeeves (“Twelve is the perfect age for Jeeves. No older, no younger, no matter how precocious you believe this particular child to be. Twelve is just the right age to imprint on Wodehouse, and you always start Wodehouse with Jeeves. Psmith is for fourteen. Mr. Mulliner and Lord Emsworth can wait until college. Twelve is for Jeeves.”). I am not QUITE sure I agree about Psmith, who is my best beloved* favorite Wodehouse character, but never mind.

* No, seriously, I almost typed this.

– And then there’s this post about Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, which I don’t think I’ve read but clearly need to. “To Kill A Mockingbird makes you think you understand the way things are, and the way things should be. Roll of Thunder makes you quiet down and listen.”

– If there’s one must-read on the Jordan Davis murder, it’s surely this one, from Ta-Nehisi Coates at the Atlantic: “When Michael Dunn killed Jordan Davis, he obliterated a time-stream, devastated an open range of changes. And somewhere on that American jury, someone thought this was justice, someone believed in the voodoo of shotguns and teleportation. Michael Dunn killed a boy, and too robbed a man of his chance to be.”

“Impatience Has Its Reward: Books are Rolled Out Faster” I have no words for how much I hate this. I would rather wait for a book and have it be better written.

Kelly Jensen has some very thought-provoking points about the NYT YA Bestsellers list, gender, and John Green. There’s also this great response.

– On Feburary 14th, The Cybils Awards were announced. Yay! Congratulations to all the winners, especially Meg Medina for her wonderful Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass.

6 Comments

Filed under links

6 responses to “Links from around the web 2-19-2014

  1. Charlotte

    Viz books being rolled out–which is why I guess we are all sitting around as patient as stones? sheep? (is there a stock simile for patience?) for the next Megan Whalen Turner book.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Yes, exactly! I will wait (mostly) patiently for the next book, because I want it to be amazing. Fortunately, MWT & Greenwillow seem to agree.

  2. Pam H.

    Couldn’t get anyone to read Wodehouse, until I brought home Hugh Laurie and Stephen Fry in the TV series. Even then, it took two or three viewings. Now, everyone is hooked! (Though the facial expressions are one of the best parts of the show, IMO.)

  3. My aunt was a school teacher who came ‘home’ every summer with a cooler in the trunk of her car, stuffed with books that I got to devour for two months until school started and she took them away to GA again. Roll of Thunder was one she brought as I got a little older, and I read it twice the first summer she brought it, and several times after that. I know I loved it, I know it impacted me in many ways… and for some strange reason I can’t remember a lot about it. It may be time for a re-read.

Leave a Reply

