Recent Reading 1-28-14

I’ve been sick the past few days and not up to much, so here are a few thoughts about books I’ve read recently.

Arrow by R.J. Anderson: Faery Rebels #3. I really like this series, and especially the sense that the world keeps expanding with each new book. I also like the way the characters think a lot about big things without feeling false or preachy.

Thud! by Terry Pratchett: Nearly the last book in the City Watch series, alas. I liked it a lot (and especially enjoyed Young Sam’s favorite book), but it doesn’t have the gravitas or emotional heft of Night Watch. On the other hand, I wasn’t expecting it to.

Scepter of the Ancients by Derek Landy: First Skulduggery Pleasant book. I had tried this one a few months ago and hadn’t quite gotten into it, but this time I really enjoyed Stephanie and Skulduggery. It’s one for a very specific kind of reader, and that reader will likely LOVE it.

The Mysterious Disappearance of Leon (I mean Noel) by Ellen Raskin: I love The Westing Game, so when I had the chance to read another Raskin book, I seized it. Sadly, I found that MDoL(IMN) lacked a lot of the charm of The Westing Game, leaving instead merely a rather clever puzzle. However, it did occur to me that Raskin is a nearly perfect recommendation for readers who have reached the end of the Lemony Snicket books and are sad there are no more.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Recent Reading 1-28-14

  1. yeah, The Westing Game was my first Raskin, and all her other books were just not as good. Pity.

  2. Pingback: January 2014 reading list | By Singing Light

  3. Pingback: Favorite Authors: R.J. Anderson | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

