Cybils: or how I am the worst panelist ever

cybils 2013
I’ve meant to write this post three or four times and have completely failed to do so, but better late than never, right?

As some of you already know, I’m going to be involved with the Cybils again this year. (“The Cybils awards are given each year by bloggers for the year’s best children’s and young adult titles. Nominations open to the public on October 1st.”) I’m a first round panelist in the YA Fiction category, which means reading a LOT of books between now and the end of December. But I’m really looking forward to it.

Also, nominations are now open in all categories, now through October 15th! It’s very easy and if your book ends up being a finalist, you get to feel smug. Also, I’ll note that in my category, YA Fiction, we get a lot of realistic contemporary books (which is great! don’t get me wrong!) but mysteries and historical fiction–basically anything that’s not sci-fi or fantasy–are totally eligible.

So far I’ve nominated:
17 & Gone by Nova Ren Suma in YA Fiction
Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan in YA Speculative Fiction
If You Want to Catch a Whale by Julie Fogliano and Erin Stead in Fiction Picture Books
Binny for Short by Hilary McKay in MG Fiction
Handbook for Dragon Slayers by Merrie Haskell in MG Speculative Fiction

In short, yay Cybils! I’m really glad to be a part of this again.

5 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

5 responses to “Cybils: or how I am the worst panelist ever

  1. So. Many. Books. I have my first batch of holds ready to pick up tomorrow. The first of many.

  2. Pingback: October releases I’m excited about | By Singing Light

  3. Looking forward to reading 17 & Gone! I have a hold that’s ready for pick up. The Rees Brennan series also sounds wonderful, but that will have to wait for early next year I suppose.

    And yes, I hear you about the book stacks! Hope you read something awesome this weekend 🙂

    • Maureen Eichner

      Rose Under Fire would have been my nomination but a friend of mine got there first. 😀 And yes, I highly recommend all of Sarah Rees Brennan’s books, once we’re done.

      I hope so too! My reading so far has been full of duds…I’m ready to be wowed!

Leave a Reply

