Made and Making: September 2013

Maybe I should just call this the cooking post?

I did do a few other things. I worked on a card that’s still in progress–I’m trying to decide how to finish it off. Probably some kind of border, but what color, how deep, etc? I did it with watercolors this time, which I like better than markers even though it’s fussier. And I used some of my gold acrylic paint to add a touch of gilt. 100_3785

I also cleaned and reorganized my room! My bureau looks quite different now, but I’m really happy with how it turned out. 100_3779 (Painting is by my sister, photo is me and my dad as seen in this post, everything else is bits and bobs collected or gifted at various points.)

100_3783 Emma decided to help.

And I also made a bouquet that turned out pretty well–all flowers from our yard. The rusty-red ones are still happy a week later, although the others have died.

100_3786

Cooking
From Complete Traditional Recipe Book (a British cookbook; I have yet to make a recipe I didn’t like): Pear and Ginger Loaf (as muffins); Ginger Shortcake; Erddig Apple Scones; Exmoor In-and-Out (basically upside-down apple cake, very delicious!)

From Smitten Kitchen: Linguine with Tomato-Almond Pesto; Buttermilk Roasted Chicken–I liked both of these without being blown away by them.

Lemon-Currant Muffins from Robin McKinley: These were wonderful!

Sweet Potato Muffins from Good to the Grain: These were also wonderful! Although I didn’t leave enough chunks of sweet potato–they mix in very quickly when they’re roasted.

Zucchini Chips: A nice way to use up some of the ENORMOUS QUANTITIES of zucchini that the garden produced this year. Takes a long time, but they taste delicious. However, don’t (like me) accidentally skip the parchment paper, and also really don’t oversalt them! They shrink down and become quite salty.

Dumplings and Mince from Ploughman’s Lunch and Miser’s Dinner: I liked this, although I might spice it up a bit more if I made it again.

Phanouropita from Fragments that Remain: A wonderful Greek spice bread made for St. Phanourious.

Vegan Cream of Broccoli Soup: This was okay, although I substituted almonds for the cashews and I think it suffered. I’d probably make it one more time strictly according to the recipe to see if it’s a keeper.

Red Lentils and Spinach in Masala Sauce: This was really good! A little spicy, so I’d cut down on the red pepper flakes again (I automatically reduce them anyway, because I am a wimp) but overall delicious. The sauce would probably be great on chicken too.

Apple Cheese Pancakes from Moosewood Cookbook (the original!): These were nice, although the egg white technique seems a little odd for pancakes.

3 Comments

Filed under cooking adventures

3 responses to “Made and Making: September 2013

  1. Mmm, a cooking post! The muffins sound like something I’d like, but I’d probably use dried cranberries instead of currants. Of course the masala lentils sound great, but everything in Indian cuisine appeals to me. I made a lot of stuff with zucchini earlier in the year (though not chips) — I’m always okay with it when the squash plants wear out.

  2. I loved this post; so sorry for late reply to it! love to hear what you are up to in these ways! It is good to realize that we all can make things beautiful and you are showing this! what wonderful times, treasures and creations, including culinary! 🙂 🙂 Blessed day to you my friend….

    • Maureen Eichner

      Aw, thank you! I love the photos you include on your blog–I’m not a big photography person, but I’m trying to include them a little more. 🙂 Blessed day to you as well!

Leave a Reply

