Top Ten Tuesday: Best sequels

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

Today’s topic is sequels, which I had a bit of a hard time with initially. But eventually I did come up with ten!

1. The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner: At one point I joked that I should just put this one ten times in a row. But seriously, this is how you do a sequel. Second book syndrome? What is that?

2. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater: I just reviewed this one and, at least in my opinion, it takes the first book and makes the story and characters more complicated and interesting.

3. The Wizard Hunters by Martha Wells: While technically this is both the third book in a series and the start of a trilogy, I’m including it, because it’s also a direct sequel to Death of the Necromancer. Also, it’s brilliant.

4. The Springsweet by Saundra Mitchell: I was worried about this sequel to the wonderful Vespertine, but it’s just as good, with plenty of historical detail and a pretty awesome love story.

5. Quicksilver by R.J. Anderson: Quicksilver! How I love you! Seriously, wonderful SFF, with a great main character. It also ties up a number of questions from Ultraviolet, while being a good story in its own right.

6. The Demon’s Covenant by Sarah Rees Brennan: So much love for this book. So much. Also, so many used tissues, because SRB is a heartless person, who delights in the tears of her readers.

7. The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke: I liked The Assassin’s Curse, but The Pirate’s Wish took everything I approved of in the first book and made it more interesting and complex.

8. Crown of Embers by Rae Carson: I was a bit iffy on the first book, but the second completely changed my mind. Yay, Elisa! Also, the ending is a nail-biter.

9. Liar’s Moon by Elizabeth Bunce: I loved Elizabeth Bunce’s first book, StarCrossed, and I was nervous about the second one. But that’s silly, because although it didn’t go in the ways I expected, it was marvellous. More people need to read these books!

10. A Coalition of Lions by Elizabeth Wein: In a way, this reminds me of The Queen of Attolia, in the sense that it’s from a different point of view than the first book and doesn’t flinch away from hard things. Also, it’s about a female character who has to find a way through grief and isolation and fear. But it’s also wonderful in its own right, and Goewin is one of my favorite characters ever.

13 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

13 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Best sequels

  1. Yay for MWT and EWein! I’m not surprised that we both have them in our lists. I just started The Dream Thieves and I hope it lives up to the expectations that I’ve built because of the glowing reviews that I’ve seen around the blogosphere.

  2. Queen of Attolia was great but I feel King of Attolia was even better. LIar’s Moon was a good read too. Great list.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Oh, I love King of Attolia a LOT. I was trying to focus on immediate sequels, ie. second books, or it definitely would have been on this list.

  3. Mimi

    Funny, Maggie Stiefvater was just recommended to me this weekend (by a priest, no less.) Nice to see her come up again, I’ll have to look for her books.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Ooh, you should! Scorpio Races is, IMO, her best to date, but Raven Boys & Dream Thieves are good, and I like her earliest books, Lament and Ballad, as well.

  4. Yes viz SRB! She was so mean to my poor sweetest Alan. (I love those books!)

  5. I need to read the Queen’s Thief series, it seems everyone has it on their lists! 🙂

  6. I LOVE Crown of Embers! 🙂 Rae Carson totally brings it and never lets up, for that entire series. Pure quality. Pirate’s Wish and Springsweet were almost on my list too. I liked both of them a lot, with Springsweet I enjoyed it even more than The Vespertine! Great list!

    My TTT:

    http://diamondinroughcoal.blogspot.com/2013/09/top-ten-tuesday-10_24.html

Leave a Reply

