Top Ten Tuesday: Books you’d like to see adapted

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

Since I am so late, here is a very simple list, no explanation (…because obviously you should all agree with me, right?).

1. Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

2. Chrestomanci by Diana Wynne Jones

3. The Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Marie Pope

4. The Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold

5. The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper (I’m IGNORING that TRAVESTY of a movie)

6. The Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner

7. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

8. Anything by Mary Stewart

9. The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede

10. Anything by Georgette Heyer (I know there are some that have been adapted, but I want more and better.)

7 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books you’d like to see adapted

  1. Oh Chrestomanci! That would have to be a TV series I think, maybe with flashbacks to Lives and Conrad’s Fate to make it work? Hmmm…. I’m reading Charmed Life to Bit right now and am loving it all over again.

    The Perilous Gard would make a great movie. I’m going to read that to Bit in October. She has always been a huge Tam Lin fan. (Of the picture book by Susan Cooper.)

    And of course, the Queen’s Thief books. Those were top on my list.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Honestly, what I’d love for Chrestomanci is a short British-style TV series with one season per book. With the right casting and direction, that would be AMAZING.

  2. There are a few things on your list I haven’t read and so can’t comment on, but otherwise I agree. *lots of enthusiastic nodding*

    I’d never looked at the Chrestomanci books and thought “these need to be adapted” but obviously they could be really fabulous. They’re visually rich stories and I can see that translating rather well.

  3. There will be a TV series adaptation of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell and it will come out on BBC next year. The same company will also be producing the Rivers Of London series by Ben Aaronovitch which I’m really looking forward to.
    Other books I’m looking forward to be adapted whether in TV / Movie form are:
    Heist Society series by Ally Carter
    Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter
    Maeve Kerrigan series by Jane Casey
    Would have preferred Heist Society and Gallagher to be in TV series form but both are already optioned as movies.
    Just noticed that recently there’s shortage of women DI’s series (if not mistaken there’s none at the moment) on the British TV screen so I hope one day they’ll pick up the Maeve Kerrigan series.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Really? Oh, wow, I hadn’t heard that! I hope they do a good job with both–the Aaronovitch books would be a lot of fun as well.

      Heist Society would be great–I haven’t read most of the Gallagher Girls series, so I don’t have an opinion there.

  4. If I had to pick just one off your list — I would LOVE to see a well-made Vorkosigan adaptation!

Leave a Reply

