Top Ten Tuesday: Memorable Secondary Characters

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

Memorable secondary characters is the topic this week. I had to work a bit to come up with 10, but eventually I got there. Also, I am feeling very terse today.

1. Calcifer from Howl’s Moving Castle: How can you not love Calcifer? (Please don’t answer that question.)

2. Bunter from the Lord Peter Wimsey series: The perfect valet, maybe even more so than Jeeves. And yet, unlike Jeeves, there’s a sense of real humanity about him which increases in the last few books.

3. Lady Alys Vorpatril from the Vorkosigan saga: As with everyone in the Vorkosigan books, Lady Alys is becoming more and more a real character as the series goes on. I love her, and especially the developments of the last few books.

4. Pol from The Thief: Pol! Dear Pol! The MWT fandom still weeps for you.

5. Uriah Heep from David Copperfield: Hey, the theme is memorable secondary characters, not secondary characters that one wants to emulate and hang out with all the time. Uriah Heep is certainly the first, if not so much the second.

6. everyone in Jellicoe Road: No, but seriously. Raffy, Chaz, the MULLET BROTHERS, Hannah–just all of them.

7. MISS LEMON from the Hercule Poirot books: I love Miss Lemon, who invents new filing systems in her off hours. I think she’s secretly a librarian at heart.

8. Eeyore from Winnie the Pooh: I love all of the Pooh characters, but Eeyore is my favorite. Also, maybe I identify with him a bit too much.

9. Annabel Crawford from The Demon’s Covenant: Look, you think she’s this flat character–Mae and Jamie’s absent mother–and then she surprises you, and then she surprises you some more, and then she completely breaks your heart because Sarah Rees Brennan.

10. Barron from the Curse Worker’s Trilogy: I didn’t even like Barron, and then in the third book Holly Black made him completely tragic and I cried and it’s not fair.

4 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Memorable Secondary Characters

  1. I basically put every secondary character that MWT has ever written. I also included Jelllicoe Road but specifically for Chaz because I adore him. And yes Bunter. I completely agree with you Jeeves compare/contrast there too.

    Calcifer! I can’t believe I didn’t think of him. I love Calcifer oh so much.

  2. Lol, Eeyore! Thats an adorable addition to your list. Love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

