Picture Book Monday: recent acquisitions

I took horrible notes (ie, none) this month, so instead of recent picture books I’ve read, you’re getting a few I’ve recently bought or been given.

and then it's springAnd Then It’s Spring by Julie Fogliano and Erin Stead: I’ve been interested recently in books about the seasons, or that tie into them in some way. Fogliano and Stead have created a wonderful little book about spring coming, which is just the sort of thing I like. Spare, poetic language (this is how you do poetry in picture books) and spare, gentle illustrations weave together beautifully.

the high hillsThe High Hills by Jill Barklem: I am a major Jill Barklem fan–she’s part of the mythology of my heart for sure–and I’m on a quest to eventually own all of the Brambly Hedge books. I’ve been trying to buy one per season, but I accidentally bought one of the autumn books this time. Whoops, except not, because it’s also one of my favorites.

extra_yarnExtra Yarn by Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen: Extra Yarn is probably my favorite picture book from last year, and I literally screamed with joy when it won the Caldecott Honor. Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen are a wonderful team, and the fairy tale almost-echoes are so wonderful, picked up in Klassen’s use of color.

miss rumphiusMiss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney: Miss Rumphius is one of my all time favorite books by one of my all time favorite authors/illustrators. I didn’t own a copy, so when I saw a paperback version in a donation pile, I snatched it up. Eventually, I hope to get a hardback copy. But for right now, I have the Lupine Lady and her quest to do something to make the world more beautiful.

2 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, Picture Book Monday

2 responses to “Picture Book Monday: recent acquisitions

  1. We read both Extra Yarn (great idea, and I’ve made 2 pieces that are on the telephone in our front yard, one for the lightpost and one for the porch railing out of yarn) and Miss Rumphius…lupines! ♥ Both are great stories about how yarn and flowers can make the world a prettier place.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Both are great stories about how yarn and flowers can make the world a prettier place.

      I hadn’t made that connection before, but you’re absolutely right! And that’s a huge part of why I love both books too. How lovely–thank you!

Leave a Reply

