TBR Readathon: Update 3

tbr readathon

Phoenix Rising by Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris: I DNF’d this one–I’m not super wild about the genre (steampunk) to begin with, and the characterization at the beginning did nothing to hold my attention. Too many other books to read.

Rusalka by C.J. Cherry: Finished this one and posted a review.

The Princess Curse by Merrie Haskell: So, my deep dark secret is that a few years ago, I was writing a Twelve Dancing Princesses retelling, and then I frogged* it for several reasons. But during that time, I didn’t read any of the multitude of TDP retellings that were being published. The Princess Curse is the first I’ve picked up since then, and I really liked it. It weaves in the Persephone myth at the end as well, and I was JUST THINKING how much I want more Persephone retellings. Anyway, I liked it, although I was sort of wilfully ignoring Reveka’s age because of reasons. I also think the cover skews the book a bit too young–I would love a beautiful Kinuko Crafty cover that reflects the mythological richness of the book a little more.

* This is a knitting term, and I’m sure there’s an equivalent writing version, but I don’t know it.

Flip by Martyn Bedford: I DNF’d this one as well. It’s a fascinating concept, but I didn’t feel like the book was ever going to get beyond the cool concept. In particular, Alex never became a real character to me, which partly makes sense but was also frustrating. I got a good way through the book, but felt no compulsion to finish it.

In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters: I also DNF’d one. There’s nothing wrong with the book or the writing, but it’s pretty heavily focused on spiritualism, which is one of my turn-offs in books. If this is not your problem, try this one! It’s nicely written and atmospheric, with an interesting historical background.

My (ambitious) List:
Poems by Akhmatova
The Last Academy by Anne Applegate
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood–DNF
Pure by Julianna Baggott–finished
Phoenix Rising by Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris–DNF
Flip by Martyn Bedford–DNF
Echo by Alicia Brewster
Tortilla Sun by Jennifer Cervantes–finished
Savage Fortress by Sarwat Chadda
Rusalka by CJ Cherryh–finished
The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke–finished
The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton
The Princess Curse by Merrie Haskell–finished
The Lost Kingdom by Matthew Kirby–finished!
The Wig in the Window by Kristen Kittscher
The Caged Graves by Dianne Salemi
The Berlin Boxing Club by Robert Sharenow–finished
Poetry of Vernon Watkins
The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White–finished
P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia–finished
In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters–DNF
Golden Girl by Sarah Zettel

Leave a comment

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

Leave a Reply

