Blogger Appreciation: Twitter edition

Twitter is definitely the social media platform that I’m most active on, and most comfortable with. I use Facebook to keep in touch with people I know, I use Pinterest to find recipes and drool over gorgeous photography. But I use Twitter as a place to learn and grow, and also have a lot of fun. I follow about 100 people–it’s hovering around 95 at the moment–and they generally fall into three categories: library folks, author/publishing people, and friends/fellow bloggers. Here is your handy guide to Maureen’s Twitter Feed. I’m sure I will miss someone obvious and important, for which I apologize in advance.

Library people
@Sophiebiblio (Sophie Brookover)
@InfoWitch (Karyn Silverman)
@LizB (Liz Burns)
@catagator (Kelly Jensen)
@CarolGSLIS (Carol Tilley)

Smart, insightful commentary on libraryland and reading. I am constantly challenged, enlightened, and amused.

Authors/publishing people
@LauraFlorand
@RachelNeumeier
@9inchsnails (Amanda McCrina)
@EWein2412 (Elizabeth Wein)
@JustineLavaworm (Justine Larbalestier)
@Nancy_Kelley
@maureenjohnson
@MiriamForster
@sarahreesbrenna (Sarah Rees BrennaN)
@realjohngreen (Errr…you know)

I have just realized that those are all authors. I do follow a couple of agents and editors as well, but I rarely interact with them, so they haven’t made it on the list. Regardless, these are all smart, lovely people, and you should follow them (and read their books!).

Friends/fellow bloggers
@brandymuses (Brandy)
@chachictweets (Chachic)
@Shelver506 (ShelversAnon)
@darcybear (Laura Beutler)
@eleneariel (Marie R.)

Laura and Marie are also library people, but I’m sticking them in the friends category BECAUSE. Again, all lovely, smart people.

Takeaway: I love Twitter, because it’s the corner of the internet where I get to be completely nerdy about books, and libraries, and Richard III, while assuming that someone else will get what I’m talking about. I haven’t really been proven wrong, which just shows that I’m following the right people.

P.S. If you see a SHOCKING OMISSION in my lists–either people I follow and didn’t remember, or people I don’t follow and should–let me know.

11 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, links

11 responses to “Blogger Appreciation: Twitter edition

  1. I feel I have yet to really grasp twitter with both hands…I just don’t have the screen time to immerse myself in it, and so find it overwhelming…

    • Maureen Eichner

      I did at first too; it helps to have a few known people to follow. You can see who they mention a lot and then follow them. I’ve also found that following/unfollowing is a lot looser, etiquette-wise, than FB. It’s quite okay to try following someone, decide it doesn’t work, and then unfollow.

  2. Marie

    Aw, thanks for the mention! I’ve followed several new people off your list, too. πŸ™‚

    • Maureen Eichner

      You’re very welcome! Hope you like them–I feel an irrational anxiety now at having recommended them. πŸ™‚

  3. I feel just the same! I love our Twitter conversations and am so glad I have gotten to know you better through them.

    (I too am on Twitter more than Facebook now.)

  4. I am a twitter person too – I just clicked with it as soon as I joined. I never found it as baffling as facebook, even from the start. It makes no bones about its ephemeral nature. Also, we follow a lot of the same people!

    • Maureen Eichner

      Oddly enough, it took me a few months to warm up to Twitter–I even remember thinking that I might quit it entirely at one point. But then I found more people, or the right people, to follow and ended up loving it.

      They’re a pretty good bunch. πŸ™‚

  5. Thanks so much for including me! I feel so important; I am on a List. πŸ˜€ And yes, I feel I have the liberty to be myself on Twitter more than on any other social network, for some reason.

Leave a Reply

