Top Ten Tuesday: Authors who deserve more recognition

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

This week’s TTT post is all about authors who deserve more recognition. This is more difficult than it seems, at least for me. I have so many online friends and we all pass reviews and recommendations back and forth. Don’t get me wrong–this is totally awesome. But it does mean that I assume EVERYONE knows about Author X, when in fact it’s just my little nerdy corner of the internet.

1. Sage Blackwood has only published one book to date, Jinx, but it is ABSOLUTELY MARVELOUS and more people need to read it RIGHT NOW, especially if you like Diana Wynne Jones. I haven’t been hearing a lot of buzz for it, aside from Charlotte and Brandy, which is a pity.

2. I think that Sarah Rees Brennan‘s books may be slowly gaining popularity? I certainly hope so, because I love her writing forever and ever. Although her first trilogy is amazing, and I truly enjoyed Unspoken and Team Human, her short story, “Queen of Atlantis, is my favorite. A wonderful, heartbreaking mixture of mythology and fairy tales and everything I love in 8,000 words.

3. Ysabeau Wilce‘s Flora books are also amazing. Madcap adventures set in an alternate version of 19th/early 20th century California! Fun slang! Nini Mo! But they’re also full of heart–a young girl finding out who she is, amidst a changing world. Bonus: wonderful. complicated relationships with parents.

4. I don’t know why more people don’t know Rachel Neumeier‘s books, because they are the best. Read City in the Lake if you’re a Patricia McKillip fan, and House of Shadows if you want sisters struggling together against the odds. Or The Floating Islands, if you want not one but TWO great school stories. Plus flying.

5. Unfortunately, I suspect most people know Franny Billingsley because of the awful Shine/Chime mixup/disaster/snafu. This is a shame, because her books are creepy and delicious. She often incorporates folktales and old ballads, which I love. Plus, her main characters are just the kind I love–prickly and alone and tender all at the same time.

6. Okay, yes, I know that Elizabeth Wein is pretty well known at this point, and also that I talk about her books all the time. But I’m sticking her on this list for the Aksumite books, which more people–ESPECIALLY Megan Whalen Turner fans–need to read. Plus, the first two, The Winter Prince and A Coalition of Lions, were recently released as ebooks, which means that anyone who’s been wanting to read them and couldn’t find them now has no excuse at all.

7. Similarly, I think some people know R.J. Anderson for her Ultraviolet/Quicksilver duology, which is marvelous and more people should read those too (they’re so different from any other YA sci-fi books I can think of). But I also love her fairy series, which sadly I’ve only read the first two books of (it’s not being published in the US and I still haven’t gotten my act together to order them from the UK). Plus, I love the way she incorporates Christianity into her book, in a way that’s open and free and completely non-preachy.

16 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

16 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors who deserve more recognition

  1. E Wein thanks you from the bottom of her heart for including her, because in terms of stark numbers she is still but a flash in the pan. Also, two months ago Publishers’ Marketplace was still calling CNV my “debut novel.” 😛

    • Maureen Eichner

      You know, I feel so lucky for having Sounis to recommend your books years ago. Because otherwise, I would probably be making the same mistake, but as it is I get to feel smug and hipster. Also, I love those books so much, and I want more people to read them. 🙂

      • MWT has always been a devoted and unpaid supporter – she is SO NICE TO ME and I don’t even know her. I think I owe her quite a few readers! Hence the “Aviation Drop-Off Principle”

        • … and RJ Anderson has done the same, BTW.

        • Maureen Eichner

          I KNOW I came across the Aksum books on a Sounis While She Knits thread, and I think it may have even been R.J. who was the recommender, although now of course my Googlefu has deserted me. I love how that corner of the internet recommends books to each other like crazy.

  2. There are some wonderful authors on this list, and the only two I can’t honestly agree are wonderful are the ones I haven’t read yet. Which makes me all the more grateful to be included! Thanks.

    (And psst, you can get the UK-only ARROW and SWIFT through Book Depository. Excellent prices, and free shipping worldwide. I’m just saying. :))

    • Maureen Eichner

      Yay! And thanks for the comment. 🙂

      I know, I know, and I keep meaning to and forgetting. WHICH IS TERRIBLE. Maybe I will mosey on over right now…

  3. Excellent to know about Coalition of Lions ebook… I have owned and loved Winter Prince for years. 😉

    And of course, I thank you for my part and it is lovely to be included in such company as Ysabeau Wilce and RJ Anderson.

    And, well, ahahahaha, that is a very kind hope for me, which… I hope one day will come to pass. 😉

    • Maureen Eichner

      I am not surprised that you love TWP, but it makes me super happy nonetheless! I’m glad they’re releasing the other books as ebooks, although I love my physical copies too.

      Yay! It was fun to pull together a list of authors I love and whose books really should have a wider audience. Which I hope they will. 🙂

  4. Sage Blackwood

    Maureen, thank you so much. I am blushing.

  5. RJ Anderson is on my list too, and you so need to get those last two faery books. They just keep getting better and better.

    Love your list overall!

    • Maureen Eichner

      I just bought them finally. 🙂

      Thanks! I really enjoyed yours too–and a couple other people mentioned authors that I hadn’t even THOUGHT of (like Brenna Yovanoff and Martha Wells). Oh well!

  6. I’m blushing now because I had no idea about Elizabeth Wein’s other books, thank you so much for putting them on your list!
    There are so many others here that I’ve never heard of, I definitely need to pick up Jinx as I love Dianna Wynne Jones and R. J. Anderson sounds really interesting too. Thank you for this great list!

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Beginnings/Endings | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

