Mini-reviews: late June

Escape from the Pipe Men by Mary G Thompson: A juvenile sci-fi book. I received my copy from the author to review. The premise was interesting, and I suspect a certain age and type of reader might enjoy it. For myself, I found the world rather unconvincing, and wished that motivations had been fleshed out a little more. Still, it was a quick, plot driven read.

Angel with the Sword by CJ Cherryh: I read this one for the Book Smugglers’ Old School Wednesday feature. I already knew I loved Cherryh, based on the first three books in the Foreigner universe (which I will get back to someday). Angel was a lovely read, which felt very science fantasy to me. I especially appreciated the fact that the heroine was from a different class than fantasy protagonists often are, and that she was depicted as having a more realistic and grounded view of life than the higher class characters. Basically, I thought she was awesome. I know Ana and Thea thought that the main male character was a bit thin; honestly, during reading this didn’t bother me, though I can see their point. I’ve heard there are shared world short stories set in the same place, and I would definitely be interested in reading them at some point.

Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen: Earlier this year, I read The Girl Who Chased the Moon, and really liked it. I’d been meaning to read some of Sarah Addison Allen’s other books, and then I went on a little mini-binge. Garden Spells was lovely, from the characters to the description of the edible plants, down to the sheer sentence-level writing.

The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen: This was the second in my mini-binge. Maybe it was reading it on public transit in Chicago, but it didn’t have quite the same magic that either Girl or Garden Spells had. In particular, I figured out a plot point really early and couldn’t see why the main character didn’t. After finishing, I think she was meant to be wilfully blind, but I also wish that thread had been handled a little differently. It’s still a lovely book, but not my favorite.

Leave a comment

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

Leave a Reply

