Recent Reading 6-12-2013

summer princeThe Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson: I liked a lot about this one–the writing was lovely and it’s the kind of post apocalyptic world I can get behind. I believed in the way the society developed and I thought the setting was really nicely done. I also liked June and thought her relationship with art was more believable than it sometimes is in YA books. However, I agree with Charlotte that I expected Gil and Enki to have some relationship to, you know, Gilgamesh and Enki. This does not seem unreasonable to me! Moreover, this is one of those books where I was totally enamored of the book while I was reading and then when I stopped, I had questions. I did like it a lot though, so if you like the idea of dystopias more than you like most YA dystopias, I would recommend this one.

green lionThe Pursuit of the Green Lion by Judith Merkle Riley: Second in the Margaret of Ashbury series. I like these books a lot, but they’re almost impossible to describe. Sort of like Margery Kempe, except with a sense of humor and also fiction? Anyway, I enjoy them a lot–Merkle Riley has a great sense of the period and language, without ever seeming stilted.

human divisionThe Human Division by John Scalzi: For some reason I wasn’t quite sure I would like this one, even though I’ve definitely been a fan of the other books in the Old Man’s War series. That was silly! The Human Division works well as an overarching story, continuing the questions and difficulties raised in the other OMW books. I am curious to know if Scalzi intends to keep writing in this universe, because I don’t see some of the problems getting resolved easily.

chocolate roseThe Chocolate Rose by Laura Florand: I’ve been enjoying Laura Florand’s books as a light contemporary romance. The Chocolate Rose is the newest, and I think, my favorite. I was a little dubious at first, because I’m not such a fan of the alpha hero, but I think that’s actually Jolie’s misperception, rather than the reality. Regardless, I really liked this one!

4 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

4 responses to “Recent Reading 6-12-2013

  1. The Margaret series sounds rather like something I’d enjoy…onto the virtual tbr pile they goe…. (that was an unconcious typo, but looked rather apt, considering the books, so I left it)

  2. The Summer Prince has just been added to my TBR list 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

