Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads

top-ten-tuesdayThis is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

I think my personal definition of a beach read is a book which I wouldn’t mind getting sandy and/or wet. So something that I either really love and have read until the copy is falling apart, or something that’s paperback and probably picked up at the thrift store for $.50. So here are ten I think it into one of those two categories for me.

1. Any book in the Anne of Green Gables series. Our copy of Anne of Avonlea has a popsicle juice stain from when I was younger.

2. Any of the younger books in the Betsy-Tacy series. Not that I don’t love the older ones too, but they’re more serious.

3. Lord of the Rings, since my copy of Return of the King is missing both front and back covers.

4. The Blue Sword or The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley

5. Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild

6. Almost anything by Jennifer Echols. For a fun, fluffy contemporary YA, I’d definitely pick her.

7. Anything at all by Georgette Heyer. Actually, I think Heyer falls into both categories!

8. Either the Hercule Poirot or the Miss Marple mysteries, by Agatha Christie. There’s something so comforting about these.

9. The Queen’s Thief series, because pretty soon my paperbacks are going to need to be replaced anyway.

This last one doesn’t quite fit into either category, but they’re such perfect summer books that I have to include them anyway!

10. The Penderwick series by Jeanne Birdsall. These are lovely books, a modern version of an old-fashioned idea.

18 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

18 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads

  1. Great group of books. I have LOTR on my reread list/

  2. Aww I love Jennifer Echols books! 🙂 Great post 😀

  3. LOTR is a great summer book series. I just love it. The first time i read it was in the summer of…. 1993! lol! Whoa!

    Angie
    My Top Ten Pool Reads

    • Maureen E

      I’m trying to remember when exactly I first read LotR–I know it was in middle school, but I can’t remember when!

  4. Yessss Anne of Green Gables, my Anne of the Island copy is a mess! And #4! I’ve been planning on rereading these soon!

  5. I think I’ll be tackling LotR this summer myself, it’s terrible I haven’t read the books yet.
    Lovely list!

    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  6. LoTR does not pop into my head when I think ‘”beach read”. It just goes to show everyone unwinds in different ways. When we went to the Outerbanks last year I did take all the Attolia books because I reread them every summer. I get nostalgic because the first time I read the first three was between Father’s Day and the Fourth of July. Man that 4th of July week I read both QoA and KoA because I had to order them and had the biggest book hangover of my life. Good thing my husband had so much time off.

    • Maureen E

      It is funny how different people unwind! Oh wow, QoA & KoA back to back, That would definitely be a big book hangover. I don’t think I’ve read that them that closely.

  7. LOL love what you said about bringing books that you wouldn’t mind getting sandy or wet. I feel the same way. I usually bring an old favorite (one that I have a duplicate of) or something light and fun and easy to get into while relaxing on the beach. I agree with three of your choices – MWT, Robin McKinley and Jennifer Echols. I probably would add more contemporary romance if I made a list like this (was too tired to work on it last night).

    • Maureen E

      Yeah, since I’m not an ereader person at this point, I really don’t want to end up with a soggy book and tears! Although I guess a soggy ereader might be worse. :p

  8. I have been meaning to check out Jennifer Echols for a while now. Great list!

  9. I love Anne of Green Gables. I never finished the series when I was younger. I’m hoping to start reading the whole series soon (ish).

    Thanks for stopping by my list!

Leave a Reply

