Top Ten Tuesday: Books featuring Traveling

top-ten-tuesdayThis is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

The prompt for this week is “Top Ten Books Featuring Travel In Some Way (road trips, airplanes, travelogues, anything where there is traveling in the book!).” I think this will be a very miscellaneous list! Journeys and traveling are such a useful device and get used in so many books. So, in no particular order (or rather, the order in which I think of them):

1. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien: In my head, this is the clearest example of a book featuring journeys. I mean, we have the four hobbits leaving the Shire and setting off for parts unknown, going across Middle-earth, and then back home again. And then Frodo’s journey into the West is the ultimate one.

2. The Time Travelers/Oxford series by Connie Willis: Time travel totally counts, right? (Plus there are the boat bits in TSNOTD, and the finding Eileen bits in All Clear/Blackout.)

3. Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder: Even though I know that the Ingalls family actually stayed in one place for quite a long time, my remembered impression is that they are constantly moving as Pa keeps pushing them West.

4. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith: Cute YA contemporary, featuring airport love and London! What’s not to like?

5. The Sunbird by Elizabeth Wein: Telemakos’s journey across the desert is one of the most memorable and, in its way, heartbreaking that I know of. You could also make a case for Coalition of Lions (Goewin’s trip from Britain), or The Lion Hunters/The Empty Kingdom, which are full of journeys both large and small.

6. Clouds of Witness by Dorothy Sayers: While the actual journey is off screen, who can forget Lord Peter’s dramatic courtroom entrance, having just flown back across the Atlantic?

7. We Didn’t Mean to Go to Sea by Arthur Ransome: One of my favorite Swallows & Amazons books. They really didn’t mean to go to sea, but fortunately, the Walkers are resourceful and alert. Lots of fun.

8. The Spellcoats by Diana Wynne Jones: The third, or first, book in the Dalemark Quartet, depending on which reading order you subscribe to (publication!). It has quite a long journey, which has this strange, dreamlike feeling because of the narrator DWJ uses in this book. I think it confuses and alienates some readers, but I love it.

9. The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner: I always forget that this one fits in the journey category, but when you think about it, it really does! All the riding, and horses, and camping. Plus, they are in all three countries, helpfully setting up the geography for the rest of the series.

10. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: “It has been coming on so gradually, that I hardly know when it began. But I believe I must date it from my first seeing his beautiful grounds at Pemberley.” So there’s that, plus the fact that Lydia’s whole plot line hinges on her journey to Brighton, and basically I am going to stop before I recite my senior thesis to you. Suffice it to say that journeys, both real and metaphorical, are incredibly important in P&P.

Now, I will admit that I left off a couple of obvious ones, like Anna and the French Kiss, because I figured that lots of other people would cover them. And I’m sure there are others I’ve forgotten about. What are some of your favorites?

4 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books featuring Traveling

  1. Time travel counts! I used it too. Same series though I just put Blackout/All Clear. And obviously The Thief is on my list too. I almost used The Spellcoats too but decided to go with The Lives of Christopher Chant for my DWJ. Because travel to parallel worlds also counts. 🙂

  2. Love reading books that take you somewhere! Nice List. kelley—the road goes ever ever on

Leave a Reply

