2013 Armchair BEA: Genre Fiction

armchairbea

I am excited about this topic! Because I loooooooove genre fiction. In fact, if you asked me to describe myself as a reader, I would say that I am a genre reader, whatever age group you’re talking about. Now, there have been a number of interesting discussions recently about whether literary fiction is actually a genre (unacknowledged by many of its authors or readers). While I do agree that it is (and therefore literary sneers are totally unwarranted and annoying), I’m not including it today because I want to talk about the genres I do love and read.

Historical Fiction
I definitely grew up reading historical fiction and a good book in this genre warms my heart in a way no other book does. On the other hand, bad historical fiction makes me cry and rage.

What makes it good? If I believe in the setting and the characters, not as simply modern people in period clothing (probably without the proper undergarments), but as people of their time. This doesn’t mean that authors have to write characters who hold attitudes they disagree with, but that they should acknowledge that the past is itself a foreign country. I also love it when authors don’t try to write “forsoothly” but clearly and cleanly, without any jarring modern phrases.

A few favorites in this genre:
Rosemary Sutcliff, who wrote about all different time periods, but mostly the end of Roman Britain. Eagle of the Ninth, Mark of the Horse Lord, The Shining Company, and Bonnie Dundee–and stopping before I list them all.

Elizabeth Wein, who you may recognize as the author of Code Name Verity (and its upcoming companion book, Rose Under Fire, which I have read and !!!). She also wrote a WONDERFUL series set in 6th century Ethiopia. I love the first book, The Winter Prince, but a lot of other people find it a bit intense. I suggest starting with Coalition of Lions.

Historical Fantasy
If you asked me to name one favorite genre, this would probably be it. The combination of some historical setting or inspiration and fantasy is gold in my book. So much so, in fact, that I have a whole page for them (though it’s not necessarily complete). A lot of fantasy is set in the past, but historical fantasy has a more specific component to it–it’s based on a particular culture, time, or both.

Here are a few highlights:
Megan Whalen Turner is the queen of historical fantasies, as far as I’m concerned. Her Queen’s Thief series is AMAZING, and if you haven’t read it already, you definitely should.

Martha Wells is much less well known than she should be. Her Ile-Rien series is really great, but my very favorite of her books is The Wheel of the Infinite.

Patricia Wrede and Caroline Stevermer’s wonderful Kate & Cecy series. The first book is the best, but they’re all fun. Georgette Heyer, with magic!

Fantasy
I’m limiting myself to adult fantasy here, since there’s a YA topic later this week. Really though, fantasy is such a huge category, with so many sub-genres. It has something for almost everyone. I tend to like mythic fantasy a lot, books based on retellings of fairytales or legends.

Patricia McKillip writes beautiful books that feel like fairytales even when they’re not. My favroites: Ombria in Shadow, Alphabet of Thorn, Song for the Basilisk, The Changeling Sea.

Theodora Goss is one of my favorite short story writers. Her first collection is called In the Forests of Forgetting and is excellent. If you’d like to try one of her stories, “Her Mother’s Ghosts” is available online and free through Clarkesworld.

Daniel O’Malley‘s The Rook is a rare urban fantasy book that I adore. (I don’t have a problem with the genre, just not my cup of tea.) It takes place in London and is by turns weird, gross, hilarious, and touching. I loved it and I can’t wait for the next installment.

Science Fiction
I’m very specific in the kinds of sci-fi I like reading: smart, character based, not too much hard science. Oh, and Ray Bradbury. In short, I can’t describe it exactly, but I know it when I see it.

Connie Willis, especially the Oxford series. Willis manages to do zany comedy (To Say Nothing of the Dog), COMPLETE PAIN AND ANGUISH (Doomsday Book), and All the Feels at Once (Blackout/All Clear) in one series! I also enjoy Promised Land a lot.

Lois McMaster Bujold has the wonderful Vorkosigan series. If you like any of the following characters, you really need to try her: Howl, Gen, Lord Peter Wimsey. It’s long, and there are certainly books I like better than others (A Civil Campaign is AMAZING, but you need to read the others first).

CJ Cherryh‘s Foreigner universe books. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend these for the person first dipping their toes into sci-fi, but they’re great character drive books, with plenty of politics.

Romance
I don’t read a lot of romance, partly because I don’t like a lot of sexual content and, well, that’s kind of the point of a lot of modern romance. (Again, no judgment on those who do enjoy reading it! Just not my personal tastes.) There are a few I enjoy, though.

Georgette Heyer is one of my favorite comfort authors. Wild plots, often hilarious characters, superb creation of a Georgian/Regency world–she has it all. Plus, they’re great from the content pov.

Jennifer Crusie is probably my favorite contemporary romance writer. I wouldn’t recommend her books to those who want clean romances, but I really enjoy her characters a lot. She’s funny and smart, and so are the people she writes about.

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “2013 Armchair BEA: Genre Fiction

  1. I *finally* read “Code Name Verity”! I’m dying to read E. Wein’s other books, but my library is notorious for not carrying the first book in any series… does it spoil “The Winter Prince” at all if I read “Coalition of Lions” first?

  2. I used to read more historical fiction years ago…mostly I read contemporary romance and paranormal now. Great post!

    • Maureen E

      It’s really interesting how much tastes change, isn’t it? I guess it’s good–there’s always something new to discover.

  3. I have also grown to love to obsession HF thanks to blogging. Connie Willis is on my TBR! The latest one I read in that genre was really cool and original: http://wordsandpeace.com/2013/05/21/book-review-chronicle-of-the-mound-builders/

  4. All those books sound like so much fun! I especially love the category of historical fantasy. I think many of my favorites would fall into this group.

    • Maureen E

      Yes, there are so many amazing books in the historical fantasy category! I don’t know why, but I won’t argue. πŸ™‚

  5. annettesbookspot

    I love historical fiction too. And, i’ve never read a Heyer book, btu I have one on my kindle to read some day! Nice to meet you!

  6. I am definitely bookmarking this post for recs! I loved historical fiction (and still do) and I read a lot on Ann Rinaldi when I was younger. I loved Code Name Verity! I like Jennifer Crusie, too!

    my armchair BEA post

    • Maureen E

      Oh, yeah! Ann Rinaldi! I was never a super super huge fan of hers, but I really liked Time Enough for Drums, mostly because of the romance. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment!

      • I actually don’t think I loved Ann Rinaldi but I loved Time Enough for Drums and actually still have that book! I think I read one based on the Civil War that I didn’t like as much but it was okay, and a few others. I think I read her in elementary and I was just getting into history and historical fiction!

  7. You’ve mentioned so many of my favorite authors in this post, and so many that I’ve got on my TBR list to get to soon! I’ve read all of Connie WIllis’ books except for the latest novellas, I think. I agree on the Megan Whalen Turner books, too, although I think I’ve only read the first three and have some catching up to do.

    • Maureen E

      How fun! I haven’t read all of Connie Willis, but I have read quite a bit. MWT, fortunately/unfortunately writes very slowly, so you’ve only missed one book: A Conspiracy of Kings. I’m hoping the next one will be published soon, though no official word yet.

  8. LOVE this post! Because I agree with all of your genre choices, they’re my favorites as well. Although I still need to read more sci-fi. Hey, since you like both sci-fi and romance, maybe you should try Ilona Andrews’ novella Silent Blade. I love all of their novels and novellas (if you’re willing to try urban fantasy then you should definitely read the Kate Daniels series). And for romance, have you read Julie James and Laura Florand? πŸ˜€

    • Maureen E

      I haven’t tried Ilona Andrews yet, but I should. I’ve heard good things about her/him/them. I have tried Julie James & wasn’t super wild about her, but I like Laura Florand a lot. I bought The Chocolate Rose a few days ago when it was $.99. Haven’t actually read it yet, but soon!

      • Haha they’re a couple – Ilona and Gordon. I would love to hear what you think about their books. What was the Julie James novel that you read? Oooh that’s nice that you got a bargain copy of The Chocolate Rose. The books don’t have to be read in order but you’d like the series better if you start with The Chocolate Thief followed by The Chocolate Kiss. πŸ™‚

        • Maureen E

          I can’t remember which Julie James at the moment, I’d have to go back and look. I actually have read the first two of Laura Florand’s books, so I’m looking forward to the third! πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Favorite genre: mysteries | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

