2013 Armchair BEA: Blogger Development

armchairbea
I meant to combine both topics for today, but then I got wordy. Two posts it is!

I’ll be honest here–I feel like, as far as this topic is concerned, I have almost no idea what I’m doing! I am terrible at marketing, even when I really believe in something, or when it’s something I’m proud of. But considering I’ve been blogging for seven years now, it seems like I should be a little better at this. I love some of the cool features that other blogs have, but I have had a lot of trouble coming up with any for myself.

Recently I have started a few things, though:
– Participating in Top Ten Tuesdays. I find the topics really helpful in kickstarting my brain when I just don’t know what to write about, and that way I have at least one post per week.

– Also, posting more frequently. Even if I’m not putting up a full review every day, I can talk about what I’m reading.

Picture Book Monday: I read a lot of picture books and early readers for my job, and I wanted a way to talk about them. I try to do about one a month. (Which reminds me!)

– I also do several book displays for my job and I’ve started talking about those occasionally. I’m working on a crazypants display for Summer Reading, so look for a post on that coming up shortly!

– Since pretty much the beginning of the blog, I’ve written a post about the books I read each month. Most of them should be here, although I think I’ve missed tagging a few.

– I’ve also started talking about the new releases that I’m excited about each month. I don’t have a specific tag for this one, but it’s fun!

I’ve also been working on developing my favorite authors page, and I hope to eventually translate that into a bit of reader’s advisory–ie, if you really like Megan Whalen Turner, you should try this author! Overall, I think that my blog is developing partly as I’m learning more about librarianship. For instance, I’m trying to mention who else might like a particular book–Hunger Games fans, or LM Montgomery fans–even if I myself didn’t necessarily like it.

I do comment on blogs occasionally, and I interact a lot with authors and fellow bloggers on Twitter. (Oh, Twitter, I ❤ you, never leave me!) I could probably do better about this, and about reaching out to the wider community. I don't quite know how people go about doing partnerships and readalongs and so on, but right now I'm (mostly) okay with that.

Really, overall I'm quite proud of the work I've put into this blog, although I'm sure there are things I could or should do differently*. Mostly, I think I'm learning to just be myself–enthusiastic, nerdy, sometimes slightly awkward, overly fond of semi-colons. And at the same time, I'm learning to challenge myself to try new things and share what I love. I don't know if I'm there yet, but I think I'm getting there.

* I really am open to suggestions!

13 Comments

Filed under blogkeeping

13 responses to “2013 Armchair BEA: Blogger Development

  1. I too had to separate my posts today. I just had a lot to talk about 🙂

    Woweeee, 7 years!?! *bows down in your presence* , haha!

    Top Ten Tuesday is very fun and it is good to kickstart your brain! Oh I love looking at book displays — that’s a creative feature.

    I describe my blog as an eclectic little blog where everyone is free to be themselves and enjoy the love of reading. I get the feeling that really applies to your blog as well. I love love love your last paragraph! As much as we may blog to spread the love of reading, we really learn a lot about ourselves in the process, don’t we?

    I also blogged about my development as a book blogger and genre fiction.

    Have a great week! 🙂

    • Maureen E

      It’s hard to believe it’s been seven years, but the numbers don’t lie. :p

      I really enjoy making the displays, and I like to help promote some of the different things library workers actually do. It’s a lot more than shelve books and answer questions!

      Thank you! I think that does apply quite well. And yes, I think we do end up learning a lot about ourselves. Sometimes it’s a bit uncomfortable, but all good in the end. 🙂

      Have a great week yourself!

  2. I mainly market my blog using twitter, and sometimes I ask for guest posts from other authors. It takes a while, but it builds up a bit at a time!

    • Maureen E

      I think the hard part for me personally is that I’ve been blogging so long. But actually I’ve only been focusing on the marketing aspect for a few years, so I need to look at it that way!

  3. I so miss picture books. My kids are 13 and 9 and I still wander over sometimes when we are at the library. Being yourself is what I look for in a blog so keep it up. 🙂

    • Maureen E

      Yes, I love picture books! And there are so many great ones being published right now. You’re never too old for picture books. 🙂

  4. Seven years?!?!? I feel like I should kiss the ring here. I have been at it a little over a year and I still feel so overwhelmed. I feel sometimes like I am lost in a sea of great bloggers, so why would anyone read me. I am just one of the masses and I have not figured out a way to set myself apart yet.

    You mentioned LM Montgomery. Was that the author of Anne of Green Gables?

    • Maureen E

      Lol! I really didn’t know what I was doing when I started, though, so in that sense I’m not impressive. But I guess everyone has a learning curve.

      I definitely know the lost in a sea of bloggers feeling. I was fortunate enough to find a few blogging friends relatively quickly, mostly because I was involved in the Megan Whalen Turner fansite and found people there. I’d say find people who love the books you do and start talking!

      Yes, that’s her! I love her books a lot and would read and re-read them growing up.

      • I have a few bloggers I talk with regularly. I need to get more active on twitter, since apparently that is a thing, and all.

        And I adore Anne. I didnt even know they were books until AFTER I had seen all the PBS specials.. I used to tape then.. On VHS.. Oh damn, I am old!

        • Maureen E

          Haha, I know! Next we’ll pull out our record collections. 🙂

          Twitter took me awhile to get into, but now I wouldn’t give it up for the world! *clings to Twitter*

  5. Twitter is indeed awesome! I love how it lets me connect with bloggers even if I don’t have any recent posts. I only started participating in Top Ten Tuesday this year, they have some pretty great topics, right? I couldn’t resist. I’m glad you’ve joined that meme as well.

    • Maureen E

      Yes, definitely! And have a more personal connection sometimes, which is nice. Top Ten Tuesday is great! I like the mix of topics that they have.

Leave a Reply

