Top Ten fictional houses I want to live in

top-ten-tuesdayThis is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

This is a pick-your-own-topic week. Since I love it when settings and houses are almost as real as characters, I decided to pick 10 fictional houses I would like to live in, or at least visit.

1. Howl’s moving castle from, well, Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
2. Herb of Grace from Pilgrim’s Inn by Elizabeth Goudge
3. Eugenides’ library from the Queen’s Thief series, especially Queen of Attolia
4. Pemberley, from Pride and Prejudice
5. Villa Caprice from Gone Away Lake and Return to Gone Away by Elizabeth Enright
6. The chocolate-colored house from the Betsy-Tacy series, by Maud Hart Lovelace
7. The Perilous Gard from The Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Marie Pope (Well, okay, at the end.)
8. China Court, from China Court by Rumer Godden
9. Simon’s house from Jinx by Sage Blackwood
10. Juniper’s house from Wise Child by Monica Furlong

9 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

9 responses to “Top Ten fictional houses I want to live in

  1. megan

    What a great idea! I would like to live in the Weasley’s house!

  2. Fun topic! Well it’s not a house, but I would love to live in the castle in Tuesdays at the Castle. That would be so much fun!

  3. Pingback: 2013 Armchair BEA intro post | By Singing Light

  4. Susan the Singer

    Green Gables. I could so live in Anne’s room in Green Gables. And Bag End. And any house in Cranford.

  5. Excellent idea!
    And I love your choice-though definitely Perilous Gard at the end. 🙂

    • Maureen E

      Yeah, I added that one and then went, “Oh, wait!” because of the beginning. But I do love it even so, and I think both Kate & EMP show a lot of sympathy for the Wardens because they really understand how much the house/land meant to them.

Leave a Reply

