2013 Armchair BEA intro post

I decided (very late) to do Armchair BEA again this year. Last year was my first attempt and I enjoyed it but didn’t necessarily feel like I got a lot out of it (my fault!). So, we’ll see what happens this year.

Here is my intro post.

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?
I’m Maureen, 25, library assistant at two libraries. I’ve been blogging since May 2006, when I was (*cough*) 18. I had been keeping a private LiveJournal blog for several years before that, but I really wanted an outlet to talk about books and other things that interested me in a public space. Interestingly, I resisted the book blogger label for a really long time–I wanted to do a little of everything here. But a few years ago I realized that I was really a book blogger and accepted it. šŸ™‚

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2013?
I am currently reading Holly Black’s new MG book, Doll Bones, which is deliciously creepy so far.

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.
I really love knitting and other crafty things. Actually, I think my Pinterest is probably a much better representation of my overall interests than the blog is!

What literary location would you most like to visit? Why?
I’ve visited several authors’ homes–dead, famous ones, I mean! That was very fun, especially William Wordsworth’s Dove Cottage in Grasmere, England (I’ve also been to Chawton, Stratford-on-Avon, and Dickens’ London house). As far as fictional literary locations, I just listed 10 of them.

What is your favorite part about the book blogging community?
Getting to know new people who share a common interest, and being able to talk about books with others who love them. Passing recommendations back and forth, chatting about trends we love or hate, even getting to email spoilery caps locked comments about a new book to a friend who’s also reading it. I would still love books without the internet, but I wouldn’t love as many, or love them as well.

10 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

10 responses to “2013 Armchair BEA intro post

  1. I think my knitting abilities are limited to a straight scarf with a single colour! It is a good skill to have, though!
    hope you enjoy Armchair BEA!

  2. I liked Doll Bones lots! I hope you keep enjoying it…

  3. I loooove deliciously creepy books. I’m definitely going to have to check out Holly Black’s new book. Visiting famous author’s homes would be a nice way to spend a vacation someday šŸ™‚

  4. I’m excited to start Holly Black’s book and I love your list of fictional houses.

  5. Chatting with other book obsessed folks is one of my favorite part of being a book blogger. No one in my “real life” ever really understood. Thank goodness for this community!

    I hope you’re enjoying ABEA!

Leave a Reply

