Bout of Books–May 13-19

A Twitter friend mentioned the Bout of Books today. I’ve been quietly panicking over the state of my TBR list/bookshelf/piles, so a challenge sounds like a great way to hopefully zip through some books and get some read. I haven’t done the Bout of Books before, but it sounds like a nice, low-key challenge.

Here’s the official blurb:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 13th and runs through Sunday, May 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 7.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Bout of Books

So, what are my goals? Well, normally I can read between 5 and 7 books a week, sometimes more. I’d like to challenge myself to read 12 books, with 15 as an additional goal if I reach the first one. Plus, I read in a variety of age groups and genres. I’d like to read:
– at least 2 juvenile books
– at least 2 adult non-fiction books
– at least 3 YA books
– at least 2 adult fiction

That’s only 9, so whatever else I read will be whatever I feel like at the time. Also, unless I hear otherwise, I will be counting books I’ve started before the challenge and am in the middle of reading. (Anyone know if that’s okay?)

The time I spend reading will vary wildly based on which day it is. For instance, I have Tuesday off this week, but I also have several obligations that day. I don’t even know what to put for a goal here–8 hours? I’ll go with that.

Anyone else thinking about singing up? Moral support is a good thing. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under blogkeeping, bookish posts

Leave a Reply

