April books I’m excited about

A bit late with this one, sorry!

this is what happy

stolen magic

river of stars

 

 

 

A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty: As soon as I heard about this one, I knew I had to read it! I loved Jaclyn Moriarty’s Ashland High books, especially The Murder of Bindy MacKenzie, and when I found out that this is a fantasy, and saw some very positive reviews from blogs I trust, I got really excited. I’m actually reading this one right now, because I could not resist it.

Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers: I have to admit that I am not one of the ravening Grave Mercy fangirls–I liked it fine, but it was one of those books where the hype builds up a little too much expectation. I did like certain aspects of it a lot, though, so I’m definitely planning to read the second book.

This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E Smith: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is a very satisfying book for a certain kind of mood, and I’m hoping This is What Happy Looks Like will fill that same niche.

River of Stars Guy Gavriel Kay: Under Heaven is the only Kay book I’ve been able to get through to date–and I did like it a lot. River of Stars is a sequel? companion book? and I’m hoping it will deliver the same kind of sweeping politics and character development.

Emilie and the Hollow World by Martha Wells: As soon as I heard that Martha Wells was writing a YA book, I pre-ordered it, because as far as I’m concerned, Martha Wells is awesome.

Stolen Magic by Stephanie Burgis: The Kat books are all that is wonderful about historical fantasy, in middle grade form. Bonus: great relationship between the sisters. I can’t wait to read this one! The only question is whether I should buy the US or the UK edition. Or both.

There are always a few I hadn’t heard of before I start looking for this post. In the Shadow of Blackbirds is one this month–no idea what it’s about, but it’s a great creepy cover. The Flame in the Mist, by Kit Grindstaff, is another.

a corner of white

emilie

dark triumph

2 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

2 responses to “April books I’m excited about

  1. In the Shadow of Blackbirds has been getting good reviews–it’s on my own list!

    The Murder of Bindy is my favorite of that series too!

    And someday I will get around to Under Heaven sigh sigh…

    • Maureen E

      I remember several people who’ve said Bindy is their favorite–I wonder if it’s something about the people who really like that series?

Leave a Reply

