March books I’m excited about

There seem to be quite a few new releases this month! Here’s a long list from Strange Chemistry (not just their own releases, either). For instance, I had no idea that Katy Moran, whose Bloodline duology I liked a lot, has a new book out!

Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells, ed. by Terri Windling and Ellen Datlow: I first heard about this one via Theodora Goss, who has a story in it. When I read the author list, I knew I was definitely going to be reading it. Theodora Goss? Elizabeth Wein? Catherynne Valente? It’s amazing! (Also, I love the cover.)

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare: I admit I am iffy on some of Clare’s books, but I have enjoyed her steampunky Victorian series and am looking forward to the final instalment!

Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson: Bluebeard re-telling. Pretty much all you need to say for me to be on board. Also, the cover is gorgeous!

The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett: Brandy reviewed this one recently and it intrigued me.

Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta: While I actually prefer Marchetta’s realistic fiction to her fantasy, there’s no why I’m not going to read Quintana. I need to find out what happens!

The Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson: Another one I’ve been hearing about in the blogosphere which sounds intriguing. And set in a futuristic Brazil–I don’t believe I know any other books with that setting.

Strands of Bronze and Goldsummer princeqvbos

2 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

2 responses to “March books I’m excited about

  1. I posted a review on Strands of Bronze and Gold today. 🙂

    The Nightmare Affair is fluffy fun-don’t expect anything ground breaking or amazing literature.

    I still haven’t read Froi so probably won’t read Quintana either. I kind of just want to leave everything where it was at the end of Finnikin. And I really want Marchetta to write another realistic novel.

    • Maureen E

      Mmm, your review was so interesting! I’ll probably read it anyway, just to see what I think.

      That was my impression of The Nightmare Affair, but sometimes fluffy is just what I need.

      I actually was not wild about Finnikin and had to talk myself into reading Froi. But I did like it, although I agree that I would be so happy if Marchetta wrote another realistic novel. She’s one of the few realistic writers who I truly love.

Leave a Reply

