It’s now

Dear friends–please keep my family in your prayers. My dad is slipping away very quickly–he has gone majorly downhill in the last week and will probably go into a coma in the next few days. We’re looking at a week left, two tops. I’m hoping to go out to Oregon Tuesday or Wednesday and will probably be staying for the duration. Please pray that:

– my mom and the people helping her can get the last details wrinkled out in terms of funeral, burial, etc
– my sister and I can get back in time to say goodbye
– the doctors and nurses give my dad the best care possible (not that they haven’t so far)
– that my dad is able to stay at home for the last few days; it would have meant a lot to him

Right now I’m okay. Sad all over. It keeps welling up. I’ve talked to my mom, but not my sister. It’s her last week of classes; I don’t know how she’s going to work all of this with her school. I’ve been housesitting and I’ll have to connect with whoever’s going to take over.

It’s still hard to believe that this is real, but it’s starting to become more so.

I know that the Lord and the Theotokos and the saints are with us; we’re not alone on earth or in heaven. Tomorrow I may go to church and just sit by our icon for a while. It doesn’t take away the sadness, but it makes it bearable.

8 Comments

Filed under life

8 responses to “It’s now

  1. I will keep you and your family in my prayers, and I hope you are all blessed with strength and courage at this sad time.

  2. Mimi

    My dear Maureen. My love and prayers indeed. Huge hugs, huge prayers, huge love. If I can do anything from where I am (the state above where you will be going) please let me know.

  3. My thoughts are with you, Maureen.

  4. DebD

    I’m so sorry to read this. Prayers for you and your family.. Praying for your father: “A Christian ending to our life, painless, blameless, peaceful, and a good defense before the dread judgment seat of Christ” ((hugs))

  5. Visiting from Elizabeth’s blog. Praying for you and your family.

  6. Pam H.

    Just showed up here after a couple months away – it looks like you got all your prayers. May God console you in your loss, and may your dad rest in peace.

  7. Pingback: 2012 in books, part 1 | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

