October 2012 book list

Books I already talked about
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
Blood Keeper by Tessa Gratton
Splendours and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
Planesrunner by Ian MacDonald
We’ve Got a Job by Cynthia Levinson
Wonder by RJ PalacioThe Tilting House by Tom Llewellyn
Demon’s Surrender by Sarah Rees Brennan: Comfort re-read, because I love Cynthia & Alan & all the rest.
Brothers in Arms by Lois McMaster Bujold
Sylvester by Georgette Heyer: Still and always one of my favorites
The Exiles by Hilary McKay: I love this book. It also makes me giggle, no matter where I am when reading

Promised Land by Connie Willis & Cynthia DeFelice: I really liked this one, which was scifi with a western feel. That sounds like Firefly, but it’s entirely different–not cowboys on spaceships but homesteaders on another world. Plus, I liked the romance, so that helped.

InGathering by Zenna Henderson: In some ways, this is one of the most original scifi stories I’ve ever read. It’s a collection of Zenna Henderson’s People stories. I found the beginning completely engrossing and then by the end felt like I had gotten the point and wished that the pattern of the stories had been a bit more varied.

Whispers Underground by Ben Aaronovitch: The Peter Grant series remains one of my best recent discoveries. The magical system is well thought out, the details of policing are believable (though I have no idea how accurate they are). And Peter himself is just a great narrator, alternately learned, funny and entirely geeky. I love it and hope it keeps going on for years to come.

Goblin Secrets by William Alexander: Quite a few people have been reading this since it was named as a National Book Award Finalist. I really liked it–I thought the language was gorgeous, the world that we’re dropped into was beautiful and beautifully described. I did feel that the ending was perhaps a tad rushed, but overall I can absolutely see why it was named as a finalist.

Lady in Waiting by Rosemary Sutcliff: An unusual Sutcliff in that the focus is mainly on a female character–Bess Throckmorton, Walter Raleigh’s wife. (Throughout, Sutcliff spells Raleigh as Ralegh–I don’t know which is more accurate.) It’s a sad story, especially since I knew the ending going in (also my problem with Glory and that movie about the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising.) Oddly enough, Sutcliff’s language, and the way she used the ilex tree, strongly reminded me of Elizabeth Goudge, to the point where once or twice I forgot who had written it.

Strong Poison by Dorothy Sayers: I can’t believe I haven’t written about this one before, but…I haven’t. It’s not my absolute favorite (GAUDY NIGHT FOREVAAAAR!!!!) but I think that Harriet, the character of Harriet, brings so much depth with her when she enters the series. Peter is suddenly a real person, rather than just this invincible detective. And the beginning and ending scenes are incredibly written.

Books I enjoyed but don’t have much to say about:
Nocturne by Christine Johnson
Against Wind and Tide by Anne Morrow Lindbergh
The Runaway Princess by Hester Browne
Cold Fire by Kate Eliot
Adaptation by Malinda Lo
The Prairie Thief by Melissa Wiley
Transformation by Carol Berg
Lulu and the Brontosaurus by Judith Viorst–actually here I have too much to say

Animal Dreams by Barbara Kingsolver
Mistress of the Storm by Melanie Welsh
A Greyhound of a Girl by Roddy Doyle
Willful Impropriety ed. by Ekaterina Sedla
The Janissary Tree by Jason Goodwin
Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman
The Invincible Microbe
The Alchemist of Souls by Anne Lyle
Brother Odd by Dean Koontz
The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron
Bomb by Steve Sheinkin
Shadow Puppets by Orson Scott Card

9 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

9 responses to “October 2012 book list

  1. I like the romance in Promised Land very much myself–this is a great comfort re-read for me!

  2. GAUDY NIGHT FOREVAAAAR!!!!
    Indeed. I actually read it before I read Strong Poison so already knew Harriet was awesome and Peter was a real person. What I love about Strong Poison is Bunter and Miss Climpson. I will always wonder what my reaction would have been had I read them in the proper order

    • Maureen E

      Interesting! I’m always very obsessive about reading series in order, so it’s very hard for me to imagine that experience. I like Strong Poison, obviously, or I wouldn’t bother re-reading it. But Gaudy Night is clearly superior.

      • I am usually obsessive about that too but for some reason I was mistaken about Gaudy Night being the first Peter/Harriet book and then I read the whole series in a weird order. I don’t recommend it.

  3. Nick Martin

    Learning about all of these interesting books makes me wish I could just sit around the house and read all day, every day.

  4. Mimi

    I can’t remember if I ever mentioned this before, but when I was growing up, my mom read the People books. She always taught me, and I know it comes from them, that suicide is wrong because we “never enter into the presence of the Divine uninvited”

  5. Pingback: May 2013 reading list | By Singing Light

  6. Pingback: August 2014 book list | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

