Reading notes 9-22-12

At the moment, I’ve thrown over the ten or so books I was dutifully plowing through in favor of Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Boys which I love like wow. Although it doesn’t have quite the magic of Scorpio Races for me, which caught me at line one and never let me go. I’m still very curious about where this story is heading and glad that it’s a series.

I’m on about page 10 of The Treachery of Beautiful Things, but I’m really liking it so far because 1) Tam Lin retelling (where Tam and Jenny are siblings!) and 2) creepy fairies! I am all for creepy fairies. And the fairyland in the story is lovely, far closer to the kind of fairyland I picture than most versions.

My obligatory non-fiction at the moment is Against Wind and Tide, the new collection of Anne Morrow Lindbergh’s letters and diaries. I’m liking it a lot; it’s neat to see the beginnings of what would become Gift From the Sea. Again, I’m not very far along yet.

I’m almost done with Long Lankin, which I’m finding very eerie, but not totally engrossing in the way I would really like it to be. I think I’m partly reacting to the pacing–something is clearly About to Happen and it’s been that way for the past 100 pages or so.

Finished The Far West by Patricia Wrede, the last in the Frontier Magic trilogy. I like the books, but they’re neither quite character driven nor plot driven, which makes them a bit frustrating. I kept expecting something to happen that never quite does.

2 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

2 responses to “Reading notes 9-22-12

  1. Pingback: September 2012 book list | By Singing Light

  2. Pingback: Historical Fantasies: Victorian era | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

