July and August 2012 book list–try 2

THERE ARE TOO MANY BOOKS. I–I can’t even. So you get a list, I’m afraid. However, I’m happy to have discussions in the comments, so if you’re curious about any of them, let me know!

Books I’ve already talked about
Courtship and Curses, by Marissa Doyle
Keeping the Castle, by Patrice Kindl
Lifelode, by Jo Walton
Dust Girl, by Sarah Zettel
Code Name Verity (link takes you to my spoilerific reread live blog; the password is Puss Moth)
Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
His Own Good Sword by Amanda McCrina
Nation by Terry Pratchett
Master of Deceit by Marc Aronsen
Rivers of London/Midnight Riot by Ben Aaronovitch
The Sunbird; The Lion Hunter and The Empty Kingdom by Elizabeth Wein
Blackout and All Clear by Connie Willis
A Company of Swans by Eva Ibbotson
A Song for Summer by Eva Ibbotson
False Colors by Georgette Heyer
Black is the Color of My True Love’s Heart by Ellis Peters

Ha’Penny by Jo Walton
Beyond the Desert Gate by Mary Ray
Redshirts by John Scalzi
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling
Team Human by Justline Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan
Trust Me on This by Jennifer Crusie
The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong
The Crowfield Curse by Pat Walsh
Wild Magic by Tamora Pierce
Feed by Mira Grant
The Uninvited Guests by Sadie Jones
The Magic Maker by Susan Cooper
Half-a-Crown by Jo Walton
Lost in the Labyrinth by Patrice Kindl
Promise the Night by Michaela MacCall
The Canterbury Papers by Judith Koll Healey
Moon Over Soho by Ben Aaronovitch
Third Girl by Agatha Christie
Claudette Colvin by Philip Hoose
The Cheshire Cheese Cat by Carmen Agra Deedy and Randall Wright
Summers at Castle Auburn by Sharon Shinn
Remembered Death by Agatha Christie
Alcestis by Katharine Beutner
The Death of the Necromancer by Martha Wells
Death Comes as the End by Agatha Christie
Knives, Lies, and Girls in Red Dresses
A Kiss at Midnight by Eloisa James
An Unmarked Grave by Charles Todd
A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge
The Cloud Roads by Martha Wells
Queens’ Play by Dorothy Dunnett
Losers in Space by John Barnes
The Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer
Thieftaker by DB Jackson

6 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list

6 responses to “July and August 2012 book list–try 2

  1. Pam H.

    How was Susan Cooper’s Magic Maker? We all love the Dark is Rising series, and the one about the fellow transported into Shakespeare’s England (I forget the name, offhand), but some I could have passed on (Boggart, e.g.)

    I see you’re reading the English detective novelists. How do you like Dorothy Sayers? Have you tried Chesterton? Opinion? I prefer Chesterton’s non-detective fiction (Tales of the Long Bow, Club of Queer Trades, etc.).

    • Maureen E

      Magic Maker is fascinating–it’s actually a biography about John Langstaff, the founder of the Cambridge Revels. Cooper knew him and worked on the Revels and she’s done a marvelous job of getting at the heart of what they were trying to do. I found it very inspiring, personally.

      King of Shadows is the Shakespeare one and I’m pretty sure that’s my favorite Cooper. I liked the Dark is Rising series a lot when I was younger; when I re-read one or two more recently, they seemed a little creepy somehow. But they did ignite my passion for Wales and I’ll always be grateful for that.

      I love Sayers as she has probably the most literary value of the “Golden Age” authors (Christie, Sayers, Tey, Marsh). I read Father Brown years ago and liked him, but haven’t been back to re-read. Chesterton, generally speaking, is a bit like Lewis for me in that I appreciate them but don’t have the wild love others do.

      • Pam H.

        The Dark is Rising is actually a bit anti-Christian in one book, at least, although we are able to enjoy the stories despite that. I’ve explained to my children about the power of the Cross being due to its endowment by Christ, who is outside of time, and that any power it might have had prior to Christ’s birth would still be due to Christ. We appreciate Wales very much, too (we have flags, a tea towel, and a coffee mug of the Welsh dragon!) partly due to Cooper’s influence.

        In one sense, I enjoy Sayers very much, but her idealistic view of academia annoys me considerably. Tey appears slightly antagonistic to the Christian view, but I enjoy her perspectives on people. My 17-year-old daughter loves Hercule Poirot (one of her favorite characters – she despises Holmes). I’ve not heard of Marsh – I’m looking for “new” authors and will have to try him/her. There is another, a Margaret somebody, detective novelist also from that era – I’ll have to try to find her surname again.

        For what I would term the “romance of life” (including, but not necessarily, romance between two people), I think Chesterton is best – particularly in the two I mentioned earlier, which are hard to come by, but try them, if you are able.

        • Maureen E

          Yes, I think that’s what I was picking up on. I would like to re-read The Grey King, which was always my favorite.

          Her view of academia is idealistic, but as someone who loves what academia could be, I very much enjoy her. Tey I love without necessarily agreeing with her about anything but Richard III. And I’m a huge Marple fan–love the little old lady solving crime!

          Ngaio Marsh is another female mystery writer, a little later than the others. She was from New Zealand originally. I’d say her books are pretty fluffy, but lots of fun. Are you thinking of Margery Allingham, maybe? I’ve read a few of hers.

          • Pam H.

            Yes, I googled “golden age of british crime novels” and it was Margery Allingham. I thought I would try her, and several others, maybe, listed in the Wikipedia article on that topic.

Leave a Reply

