Armchair BEA: Interview

I’m trying to get more involved in blogger events because 1) they sound like fun 2) you get to meet new people with the same interests without leaving home. A plus, right? Anyway, today is the first day of the Armchair BEA and here’s my interview!

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?
Hi! I’m Maureen. I’m in my early 20s and live in Indianapolis. I work as a children’s assistant in a small public library outside the city, and as a library assistant in the Indianapolis public library system. I started blogging in May 2006, which means I’ve been blogging for…6 years? Impossible! I started blogging because I love books and talking about them, but most of my friends (who are otherwise great people) don’t share my literary tastes and I hate to yak away at them when they’re not excited. For a long time I resisted the book blogger label, because I’m interested in a lot of different things (I sew, cook, grow herbs, etc.) and I wanted my blog to reflect that. But gradually it’s really turned into a book blog and I’m starting to embrace that. πŸ™‚

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012?
Any regular readers will probably know the answer to this already: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein! But I’ve also really enjoyed Beverley Nichols, who wrote arch books about gardening in the 1950s. Also, Saundra Mitchell’s The Springsweet and Martha Wells’ The Wheel of the Infinite Basically, it is impossible for me to choose one favorite book EVER. (I recently talked about what I was reading here and here.)

Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read?
I’m really proud of my Code Name Verity review, because I think I actually managed to capture some of why I love that book so much. Sometimes I write about a book and I look back over my review and realize that I’ve made it sound BORING. I’m also really happy about the posts that I wrote for Chachic’s Queen’s Thief Week, because they’re something I’ve wanted to work on for a long time (I was an English major in college and actually liked writing papers).

What is your favorite part about the book blogging community? Is there anything that you would like to see change in the coming years?
I love the sense of community, of friends passing books around amongst themselves. It’s fun sometimes to watch the trail of a recommendation as it goes from one blog to another. I do sometimes wish that there was a little less drama, but hopefully we’ll all learn from the different controversies and problems. For smaller bloggers, like myself, it’s sometimes hard to get involved without feeling overwhelmed (or maybe that’s just me? hopefully not?). But I’m going to keep talking about books and hopefully finding other people who want to do the same.

Have your reading tastes changed since you started blogging? How? I was going to say that they absolutely had, and now I’ve stopped to think about it and I’m not as sure. As far as big categories go, no. I’m still a classic lit (British, please!)/sff person, with a heavy dose of YA and a splash of historical fiction to round things out. But I used to actively read the classic lit side much more, and now it’s probably been over a year since I read anything by Jane Austen. A few years ago, that would not have been true. It’s tempting to blame the internet, or shortening attentions spans or something, but I think the truth is that at the moment I don’t have the energy to read something long. Hopefully someday soon that will change again!

That’s it–thanks for stopping by and feel free to have a look around! My Index is not up to date, sadly, but my tags and categories are.

24 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

24 responses to “Armchair BEA: Interview

  1. You’re super lucky to work in a library! That’s probably my dream job right now. πŸ™‚

    I peeked at your Code Name Verity review but didn’t read it because I have it to read and don’t want to suay my thoughts. I’ve heard nothing but great things about it though!

    Here’s my Armchair BEA post for today!

    • Maureen E

      I definitely consider myself very blessed! It took over a year for me to get a job, with regular interviews and four years of work experience. It’s a tough market at this point, but it is possible if you’re persistent.

      I hope you love CNV! I’ve been an Elizabeth Wein fan for years, so I’m incredibly excited that this book is getting so much attention.

  2. Not into the drama either but there seems to be something new every week 😦 Hope this changes also.

  3. I also agree about the drama, but I’m guessing it’s not going away any time soon. I’ve heard such great things about Code Name Verity – can’t wait to read it!

    Pleased to meet you! Here’s my Armchair BEA Intro Post.

  4. I have heard so many great things about Code Name Verity, it’s definitely a book I’ll have to pick up at some point!:)

    Nina
    My introduction post

    • Maureen E

      I hope you like it! I’ve been an Elizabeth Wein fan for years, so it’s great to hear that so many people are excited about this book. πŸ™‚

  5. Working in a library is like a dream job for lots of us! I’m the school librarian in the school where I work but as I’m also a full time teacher I don’t get much time to develop the library. I’m a new follower of your blog πŸ™‚

    Pleased to meet you! My introduction post

    • Maureen E

      I know! Except for a year or so where I thought I might be a teacher, I’ve been planning to be a librarian since I was 12. Don’t have my MLS yet, but we’ll see what happens down the road. And thanks for following my blog! I’ll be sure to check your post out.

  6. I have Code Name: Verity on my tbr pile and now I’m dying to read it. I know what you mean about the drama, but like in my real life, I try to stay out of it. I’m a small blogger too and I get overwhelmed, but then I remember that like you I’m blogging because I love to talk about books so I keep chugging along and wait for things to die down. And they always do. I look forward to visiting your blog more in the future!

    • Maureen E

      Yeah–I think a lot of being a smaller blogger is realizing that I don’t have the time/energy to do a lot of marketing type stuff. So I have to choose what I’m interested in and recognize that I just won’t get as much exposure as other people. And that’s okay too. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the kind words!

  7. Oh, I LOVED Code Name Verity!! πŸ˜€ It was absolutely amazing and after finishing it I want to go back and reread and see if I can catch all those things that are revealed later!
    Also, 6 years!! O.o That’s a huge accomplishment!
    I also have friends that are somewhat interested in books but nowhere near as much as I am πŸ˜‰ So it’s great meeting people through book blogging! πŸ™‚

    • Maureen E

      Same here! We’ll see–I know I’m going to start crying about 2 pages in.

      It’s hard to believe it’s been 6 years!

  8. I’m going to get my Masters in school library science and can’t wait to work in the library! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and nice to meet you!

  9. Thanks for dropping by my blog! I don’t think I’ve read a single negative review of Code Name Verity yet. It seems to be one of those rare books that everyone agrees on, so I am going to have to get around to reading it soon!

    Also, congrats on blogging for 6 years β€” that’s really amazing! πŸ™‚

    • Maureen E

      It’s hard to believe it’s really been 6 years, but I guess it has! I hope you enjoy Verity when you read it.

  10. suecccp

    Hi There!

    Like you, I sometimes feel guilty if I am not reading ‘serious’ fiction, but then I remember that reading isn’t supposed to be a chore! πŸ˜€

    • Maureen E

      Yeah, but I do love ‘serious’ books too, so I wish I was a little more involved with that world now.

  11. Pingback: Armchair BEA: Best of 2012 | By Singing Light

  12. I have The Springsweet in my TBR pile, did you ever read The Vespertine by Saundra Mitchell? If so, what did you think of it?

  13. Pingback: 2012 in books, part 1 | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

