Links from around the web

Things I’ve collected recently that I thought others might be interested in:

N.K. Jemisin on The Unexotic Exotic (at Book Smugglers). One of the best worldbuilding posts I’ve ever read, especially in the context of writing about a culture not your own.

Oh my goodness, people, this is why I read Cat Valente. THIS: “After all, if you grow up loving fairy tales and King Arthur and saints who battle monsters, you want the British Isles the way some kids want boyfriends.” And the last few days I keep returning to the idea of never naming what you’re writing about. I’m terrible at that, but it’s so right.

A Code Name Verity spoiler-full discussion!

-Theodora Goss has a really interesting series about the immigrant class up: part 1, part 2, and part 3.

1 Comment

Filed under bookish posts, links

One response to “Links from around the web

  1. Thanks for the link to NK Jemisa. Her blog is really enjoyable, and I think her new book is going on my summer reading list.

Leave a Reply

