Apple Spice Cake

As you may or may not have guessed, I am quite a big fan of fall. The leaves! The food! My birthday! Thanksgiving! Anyway, one of the things I like to do is identify a few recipes that sort of sum up particular seasons. One of the ones I’ve been hunting for for fall is an apple cake. Now, there are many apple cakes out there, and I expect I will try a number of them. But so many involve sauteeing the apples in sugar. I realize that probably tastes lovely…but we are a sugar sensitive household (I’m one of the less sensitive ones and even my tastebuds are quite different than they were a year or two ago). Sauteeing apples in sugar is just not going to happen.

However! None of that matters, because I have found what I strongly suspect will turn out to be My Apple Cake. It comes from Joy of Cooking, and it is called Apple Spice Cake, and I have made it twice this year and it is delicious.

I did cut the sugar in half, though. Because 1 c of sugar plus 1 c apples in an 8×8 pan of cake is excessive, in my opinion. However, if you disagree, feel free to add some more back in.

1 1/2 c flour, white or white and whole wheat
1/2 c packed brown sugar
1 t baking soda
1 t ground cinnamon
1/2 t ground cloves
1/2 t ground nutmeg
1/2 t salt
1 c buttermilk
1/2 vegetable oil
1 t vanilla
1 c chopped apples
1/2 c chopped nuts

Preheat oven to 350. Grease and flour an 8×8 pan. Whisk the dry ingredients (flour through salt) together in a large bowl, pinching out any lumps. Add the buttermilk, oil, and vanilla, and stir together until smooth. Stir in the apples and nuts. Scrape the batter into the pan and spread evenly. Bake until a toothpick comes out clean, 40-45 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes in pan and then finish on a rack. Serve plain, or dusted with powdered sugar, or with vanilla ice cream. They claim this serves 8, but that involves 1″x1″ pieces, which I suspect most people would object to. I double the recipe for 10.

Special bonus! There are no eggs in this cake, which means you can lick the bowl-leavings guilt free.

2 Comments

Filed under cooking adventures

2 responses to “Apple Spice Cake

  1. Richie

    you double the recipe in what size pan?

Leave a Reply

